We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamp Liter Inn(Visalia)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
66
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange groveswonderful hostsbreakfast was deliciousmemorable staymexican restaurantnear sequoia national park
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We have been to Wicky Up 3 times now and will continue to keep going back. The ranch house is surrounded by beautiful orange groves and rocky, arid hills. You can go for a walk around the groves or up into the hills right from the house, and maybe Monica & Jack's dog, Sweetpea, will come along with you. Or if lounging with a book is your preference, you can relax on their screened-in, wrap-around front porch or inside in their cozy living room. There are plenty of interesting things to see in the house from vintage games to family portraits; so take a walk around and explore. Monica & Jack love sharing the house's very interesting history. We recommend staying in the Juliana Suite; there is a sitting room just for you, the bed is very comfy & the rooms very clean. Furthermore, the breakfast is to die for! Two amazing courses are served very elegantly, and are accompanied by local honey, various types of local oranges depending on the season, and blueberries, blackberries & mint from their garden. Also, Monica & Jack love to spend time at breakfast getting to know their guests; we have made some new friends and we continue to keep in touch with them. On our last visit, they invited us to go to Visalia with them to a "Cup of Jazz" at 210 Cafe. What an unexpected pleasure! This is a music fest every Saturday morning from 10am to noon; if you have a talent, whether it's playing an instrument, tap dancing, singing or even storytelling, you can join in the fun or just sit back & tap your feet to the rhythm. Another benefit of Wicky Up is its location in relation to Sequoia National Park; the drive to Sequoia is gorgeous, winding through more orange groves, mountains, around a reservoir & along a river, leading up into the Park. We will definitely be back to Wicky Up to see the sequoias & to a "Cup of Jazz." Wicky Up is a peaceful, relaxing oasis, a perfect home base for exploring Sequoia, but make sure to set aside some time for just exploring the ranch house and its gardens. It has become our new home away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayAndBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi, Dears. We've just figured out that we can make responses to our lovely reviews. Thanks so much for yours. Do come again soon. We will welcome you with open arms. With love, Monica and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Requiring a decent and affordable place to stay near Sequoia National Park, we found the Wicky-Up Ranch B&B in Woodlake, CA via the internet and spent three nights there during our road trip in southern California. Our stay turned out to be much more than we thought it would be: not only were we welcomed with real hospitality in this cosy and spacious B&B - for a few days we became members of Jack and Monica's family. It was a memorable trip back in time in a historic house that breathed the quiet of nature. The two-course gourmet breakfasts featured fresh, organically raised fruits, and were simply unforgettable (we remember Jack's great coffee brew as well). Our room left nothing to be desired. Not only did we have an upstairs sitting room, we had access to the ground level living room as well, with its early-20th century character, old books and historic magazines. The very best memory we reserve for our hosts, whom we hope henceforth to count among our friends. This is a place to stay like no other; if you like peace, quiet, nature, healthy yet tasty food and good conversation, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Watchman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hello, Dear Guests, you won't believe this, but we've just figured out that we can respond to our guests' reviews. LOL... We've just completed our 20th year in business, so it's about time, wouldn't you say. Actually, this will be more of a surprise to you than had you received it immediately after your beautifully-written, appreciative review. We hope you will come again to enjoy all the things you enjoyed before and to discover new treasures and things to do. Early March is just lovely with all the stone fruit trees in bloom. You can drive the Blossom Trail, visit a Swedish-influenced community nearby, walk in the green foothills and look at wildflowers. We send you our warmest regards. Monica and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

My wife and are were looking to get away for a getaway before our first child arrives. We decided on a place not too far from home. Our stay is exactly what he hoped it would be; a charming, unique, and beautiful getaway. Jack and Monica are great and the breakfast service was worth the stay by itself.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hello, Dear Guests, By now you have an almost-two-yr. old child. How your life has changed. We somehow neglected to thank you for your sweet review; so we're doing so now along with wishing you a splendid 2017 and Happy Parenting. Warm regards, Monica and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at the Wicky-Up Ranch. This was our base for visiting Sequoia National Park. We couldn't have hoped for more helpful, welcoming hosts than Monica and Jack, who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed the stay and made the most of our time there - Monica even made reservations for us at a lovely bistro in nearby Exeter (Monet's) and Jack's breakfasts were superb! The house is beautiful and furnished to a very high standard - we stayed in the upstairs suite (Juliana) - which was light and airy and benefited form a private lounge area. If you're looking for a relaxing, comfortable place close to Sequoia then you won't find better than Wicky-Up Ranch

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the cottage at Wicky-Up and loved it! Monica and Jack are amazing hosts who know the area and provide maps, history and ideas to see all that this beautiful area has to offer. We couldn't have done so much in such a short time without them. Every morning Monica prepared a gourmet breakfast with organic and locally grown foods, beautifully served in the ranch dining room. The guest rooms there are beautifully decorated, as is the ranch itself. The cottage is my favorite: cozy, colorful and has a private patio. It overlooks the orange groves and is so relaxing! We're glad we found Wicky-Up because it just fits in so beautifully to this rugged part of California.

Room Tip: If you stay in the cottage, you still have access to the kitchen, living room and porch at the ranch house. It would be nice to bring a tablet with to watch a movie in the cottage.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 100Midwest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hello, Dear Guests! Surprise! Thank you for your remarkable review. You made everything sound so beautiful, interesting and delicious! After 20 years in business, we just figured out that we can respond to your reviews. Aren't we just too silly. We would love to have you back. Any chance for this coming year? Let us know. In the meantime, we send you warm regards.
Monica and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews