We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The London West Hollywood
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Helena, CA.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just finishing a 5 night stay and loved every minute .The staff are amazing .The room we had on the 7th floor was great .Lovely bathroom and a huge tub.Breakfast was wonderful .To be honest we just had a great time and would so come back .I would like to mention Ali one of the best concierges I have ever dealt with .If you see my history this is a huge compliment as we always stay 5 star worldwide . I had one disappointment which was strange .We were at the pool top bar and had to go to the bar and pick up our own drinks as there was no server around . My wife went back and picked up another round . We got our bill and they charged us 20% service .$10 to get our own wine not good .Ali to the rescue ,she heard our story and promptly gave us some vouchers for bubbly at 6pm .Smoothed my feathers . We drove down from Napa to visit our favorite in door cycle studio .Soul Cycle they are a 5 minute walk away if you like to spin try it .Love this Hotel and we will be back a lot .Well done to the management !!!!!

Room Tip: Top floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    369
    94
    42
    25
See reviews for
294
662
95
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have nothing but praise for The London. To set the scene; we have been to LA before, so we had done Santa Monica & Venice Beach - this time we were more interested in Hollywood.

The London is in a great location in West Hollywood, walking distance to many resturants and shops on Sunset Strip, an easy bus ride to Hollywood Blvd. Only a short bus ride to a metro to get you to downtown LA. You don't really need a car if you are planning on just exploring this part of town. We did do a taxi ride to Santa Monica one day - it was a little pricey, but we enjoyed the day at the beach.

The hotel is very impressive. From the Lobby, to the communal areas, the rooftop pool and the rooms…you will not be disappointed.

The rooms or I should say suites are fantastic. They are huge and very well laid out. There is no false advertising when it comes to the photo's on The London's website - the rooms are exactly as you see on the website! There is a nice sized L-SHAPE seating area, looking out to your balcony (ours looked over the Hollywood Hills. I often wondered if I was starring out at anyone's famous house up in the Hills) There is also a kitchenette area. The Bathroom - wow, this is huge too and very luxurious. I loved the deep bath - this is what you call a serious bath.

Previous reviews have mentioned that you may be lucky enough to spot a celebrity. We came face to face with 50 Cent coming out of the Elevator! How about that for a spot! Rumour had it around the hotel that Posh and Becks had hired a cabana on the rooftop pool only a couple of days prior to us arriving!

Something which is very worth while mentioning is the FREE buffet breakfast. This is held in the Gordon Ramsey Resturant (which we also ate at in the evening - very very good) This is not your standard free buffet breakfast. Again, this is fantastic…so much choice, I couldn't actually believe what was on offer . They also do provide an A La Carte breakfast option where you order off the menu, but unless you fancy Egg's Benedict for example, I think all your breakfast requirements will be met.

Stay at this hotel…you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Around_the_World_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here on a whim for a belated Valentine's gift, and found this hotel through Trip Advisor.

We expected a nice hotel with excellent service, but it exceeded our expectations!

Everything from the staff in the lobby, to the room service attendants to the valet and the breakfast service were ALL amazingly friendly, helpful, and excellent with their service. They literally raised the bar beyond any place we've ever stayed.

The rooms were spacious with very retro decor, a great patio view with a bench, and very quiet too!

The food was nothing short of delicious, and we enjoyed every bite from our room service dinner to the breakfast the next morning.

The rooftop pool at night is a must see, and very relaxing to hang out there with a few drinks.

The fitness center has everything you need from elite cardio equipment to free weights and machines.

We will definitely be coming back here for another stay, such a pleasant experience, not pretentious at all, and a very inviting, luxurious, and fabulous stay!

We can say with confidence that this is THE best hotel we have ever stayed at, period. End of Story! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterBean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our second visit to this excellent hotel. From arrival to departure we received friendly and efficient service throughout - out front, at reception, concierge, room service. The accommodation - a 7th floor London Vista suite with down-town view - was large and comfortable. The rooftop pool area had everything - large heated pool, great views and fire-pits for the chillier evenings.
Gordon Ramsey's Boxwood restaurant offers memorable dining - an extensive menu of attractively presented dishes served in a relaxed atmosphere.
Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we would not hesitate to recommend London West to anyone who likes to be well looked after in luxurious surroundings.

Room Tip: High floor south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEALBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Everything at the London West Hollywood Hotel is more than perfect and well-functioning – apart from the fabulous rooftop terrace, that is.

All the good stuff:
The location of this hotel is great just one block off Sunset Blvd. and within easy walking distance to i.e. the Sunset Plaza for a wide choice of restaurants/cafés; the legendary night clubs “Whisky a Go Go” and “The Whiper Room” are just around the corner, and drives up The Hills are just across the street. Yet you are not disturbed by any noise at all. From all rooms there are lovely views from the balconies of either The Hills, downtown LA or Century City.

The rooms are all very spacious and offer a unique layout with a freestanding kingsize bed with a ceiling high separation forming a small entrance area while a cozy freestanding corner-sofa offers sort of a separate lounge area and a tiny kitchenette with coffee-brewer and fridge is to be found in the corner. To our understanding all rooms have some sort of balcony/terrace – in our case a small but OK balcony with a tiny seat for two and a small coffee table. Everything beautifully decorated in a state of the art fashion. What really sweeps your feet away is, however, the bathroom. Wow… very spacious offering not only a huge tub, he and she wash sinks but likewise a spacious double shower. Everything in strictly white tiles with loads of soft towels and free bathrobes at your disposal. We loved it!

Check-in was smooth and swiftly and we were happy to learn that our comment and wish for a room on one of the upper levels with a West facing balcony had been duly noted. The entire staff – apart from the one at the roof terrace – were very accommodating and pro and the concierge helped us most gladly with table reservations and driving instructions. Unfortunately, parking is a bit problematic and one need to make use of the rather expensive underground valet service meaning, that if you don’t call down ahead, you’ll often have to wait quite a while to get your car. But with a bit of planning and taking into consideration that we are talking a city hotel, it is acceptable.

Breakfast is included with your room and we were thrilled with great delight when we were presented with the huge breakfast buffet. Absolutely delicious and very delicately arranged. Fresh fruits, home baked pan cakes and tiny croissants and you name it. All but hot dishes included. Top.

The disappointment:
Having previously stayed here, when it was the Bel Age Hotel, we knew that the rooftop terrace was to die for offering a sparkling turquoise pool, sunbeds and stunning views. We couldn’t wait to re-visit knowing that we could combine touring with “beach-days” on the roof. Hence, we were thoroughly disappointed that it turned out that the very reason for us to choose especially this hotel was only partly available to us and one evening not at all… From being a relaxing spot for the hotel guests for a refreshing morning dip in the pool, soaking up the sun in the afternoon and unwinding in the corner-spa or taking in the lights of the city in the evenings – the terrace has turned into a snobbish pool deck during daytime and a hip bistro/lounge/night-club in the evenings where most of the time part or whole sections are closed off for private functions. Not one single night did we succeed to lounge in our fave corner facing The Hills…

Big cabanas have been placed along the one side blocking the uphill views and taking up space for needed sunbeds while dining tables fill up the opposite side. A staffed bar has been added – and when one afternoon we came up with a half finished beverage in hand we were denied access till we had emptied it. While everything and everyone else in the hotel were to perfection and pro, this didn’t apply to the staff on the terrace that did make it clear to us, that this area now is the “cash-cow”. The first evening we found a single-party going on not only in the private function area to the right but all over the terrace. It was stuffed with young people with drinks in hand and we had to search high and low to find a tiny area to place ourselves in the far corner where the furniture were left in a mess with yet not cleaned extra dining tables squeezed in. We were offered a free drink as an appology… but it was not enjoyable. The second evening the terrace was transformed into a jazz-club open to the public, and once again we found ourselves surrounded by cocktail clad guests, noisy music from a DJ - and too few sofas/chairs to accommodate us properly. Not exactly an environment to enjoy a relaxing evening swim in the pool… I felt uncomfortable in my swimsuit and wet hair amidst these elegant people. Third night we had more luck – “only” the popular cabana and fireplace corner had been blocked off for a private function. Coming our last day in LA we had planned for a relaxing “beach-day” on the roof terrace – but only by bedtime the night before we received a note from the management, that the following day the entire rooftop area would be closed off as from 16:00 hrs. due to a private function! Hence, at 15:30 hrs. the staff started to clear the place and we were left with the only option of withdrawing to our own balcony for a sundowner and to spend our last night in LA. Not exactly the al fresco experience we had looked so much forward to. As compensation we were offered a free glass of juice/wine in the restaurant…

In closing. We find it truly sad that the remodeling and upgrade of this otherwise beautiful and legendary hotel has taken such a greedy twist. At our return we did write the hotel and the management apologized duly and told us that they would pay more attention to this and try to avoid similar situations. I’ve been waiting to post about this but do find it important to make future guests aware in order to set expectations in the right perspective and avoid disappointment. Our travel plans may very well take us back to LA later this year – and in spite of our sad experiences with the rooftop terrace – we’ll most likely book with The London West Hollywood once again, so don’t get me wrong – it is a beautiful spot!

Room Tip: If you wish to enjoy the last sunrays of the day, choose one on the upper floor towards West. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hollywood
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
980 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
2,749 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London West Hollywood

Property: The London West Hollywood
Address: 1020 North San Vicente Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
#4 Business Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The London West Hollywood 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The London West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London West Hollywood Hotel West Hollywood
London West Hollywood
London Hotel West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing