We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Montrose West Hollywood(West Hollywood)
US$331
US$240
Official Website
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Andaz West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Petit Ermitage(West Hollywood)
US$385
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grafton on Sunset(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$210
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$419
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Parc Suite Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chamberlain West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$314/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$354
US$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$646
US$506
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Marquis(West Hollywood)
US$530
US$405
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
909
128
45
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
128
45
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower bartim cunninghamterrace restaurantart decolobster tacoshotel ambassadorlos angelesclassic hollywoodold schoolhollywood feelavocado toasthollywood hotelspecial thanksthe entire stafffloor to ceiling windowsjunior suitehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
1,054 - 1,059 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed here over the past weekend. I thought the hotel looked half finished, dark and dirty. Our room was barely clean when we checked in. There was a used toothbrush on the floor and the headboard had some strange goop on it. Our room was never cleaned on Saturday until we called three times to complain. The lighting in the rooms was horrendous. After all of the great reviews and the recent article in Departures Magazine, I was excited to stay here. What a dissapointment.

Breakfast on the patio was fantastic and tasty. The only bright spot in our stay at the hotel.

The hotel needs an overhall, or at least brighten it up with some fresh flowers in the lobby. Just not a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovetotravel2360, General Manager at Sunset Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2007

On behalf of the management and staff of the Sunset Tower Hotel, I must admit to being extremely surprised and disappointed to read your "Not impressed" review of September 16th. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Your experience is directly at odds with the overwhelming majority of our guests as evidenced by the other reviews on this site. At the Sunset Tower Hotel we pride ourselves on our ability to provide a unique and memorable hospitality experience to all of our guests and anything less is unacceptable.

As General Manager of the Sunset Tower Hotel, I invite you to return to the hotel for another stay as our guests for a night and assure you that you will have an entirely different experience.
Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel or through Trip Advisor to arrange this.

Sincerely,
Patrick O'Shea
General Manager
Sunset Tower Hotel
poshea@sunsettowerhotel.com
Tel: 323.654.7100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Sunset Tower over a long weekend in August. We booked with the hotel directly and took advantage of a 'four nights for the price of three' package in a one bedroom suite. The package included breakfast and complimentary health club / spa services. The staff were great, the room was large and nicely furnished, and the hotel bar and restaurants are very buzzy. Also, the W. Hollywood location is great and we had a fantastic view from our room.
Before booking - check the hotel's website for promotional rates. We paid an average rate of about $300/night. For a hotel of this quality and location - that's a real bargain.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank jkojkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We recently made two local weekend trips from San Diego to Los Angeles and were fortunate enough to stay at Sunset Tower. It's location on the Sunset Strip is prime. The hotel is elegant with old fashioned charm, yet has all of the modern conveniences. It has the feel of a 5-star hotel while maintaining it's local historic charm. The accommodations were remarkable and the staff was extremely courteous and attentive. We were upgraded for both stays at no extra charge. The hotel and staff are first class without being stuffy or pretentious. Sunset Tower is our hotel of choice, and we will not stay anywhere else when were are in town!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmmeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

The room service and restaurant food at the Sunset tower was exceptional. And prompt. I stayed there for a total of 6 days during August of 2007. I've stayed at several area hotels and the food at the Sunset Towers stands out. Eating breakfast on the patio by the pool was a treat. The service was friendly and attentive. The food is very expensive though. ($16 for a bowl of Oatmeal)I would not stay there unless I was on an expense account.

One tip - if you want to sleep ask for a room on a high floor. The hotel often hosts parties during the week and I found my room on the 5th floor to be very loud. Between 11 pm - 2 am) The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjwnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We just returned from a stay of 6 nights at the Sunset Tower Hotel - a small, boutique hotel in West Hollywood. The room, food and service were all excellent - but the personnel were outstanding: always warm, and ready to help with anything they could do ! That's what makes a trip memorable for me . Sincerely, gnicko

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gnick186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews