We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Full-Day Small Group Yosemite & Glacier Point Tour Including Hotel Pickup
304

Book in advance
from
US$169.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Pioneer Yosemite History Center
from US$169.00
More Info
from US$1,268.00
More Info
from US$1,228.00
More Info
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
52
60
19
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
60
19
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covered bridge history center yosemite np step back in time many times blacksmith area information stop barn signs volunteers development
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Such nice people and so much history. What a pleasant surprise! We stopped in before going to the market and were welcomed by a couple of the staff (volunteers?) who chatted with us, shared info and were excited to show us around. When they found out that my son is a blacksmith, they offered to walk over and show us the blacksmith cottage, which is usually closed due to COVID, I think. He was in heaven!

The covered bridge was cool too. Very pleasant stop!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

If you come in the south entrance to the Park make sure to save some time to visit this History Center. Lots of original buildings have been preserved and re-located and you can walk around the site for free. Unfortunately the buildings are currently closed but you can peer in some of the windows. Get a feel for what it was like for European settlers living in the area 100+ years ago.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

I had driven past Wawona many times but never knew about Pioneer Yosemite History Center just to the north. You start with a wagon shed with open sides and views of maybe two dozen wagon, coaches, and other animal powered vehicles. Also the Gray Barn where they hold square dances in the evening, but we were long along our way by then. Then you cross a covered bridge into an open area surrounded by about a dozen old historic buildings that had been moved here from the area. Most were closed, but there was an interpreter at the Wells Fargo telling about Wells Fargo freight (no bank yet), but was also Western Union telegraph and a phone switch board, although we were told it was probably faster to send a telegram than use the primitive telephone. There were two blacksmiths working in the Blacksmith shop making decorative items from old horse shoes. Since my camera messed up, we hope to return.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 August 2019

I love crossing the the wooden covered bridge to the Pioneer Center. Though you can't go in any of the buildings, except where the stage coaches/farm equipment are housed, it's fun reading about each building and looking in the windows,

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank legsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

My son enjoyed his time here. We visited the stables and met the mule horses. They have pointy ears. There was an active bkacksmith on location who we bought a horseshoe from. We met a lovely ranger who walked us through all the log cabins. We saw a range of stagecoaches as well. It was a short walk from the wawona hotel. This is a must visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank archlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews