We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to meet in Downtown Watsonville”
Review of Second Street Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Second Street Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Fast, easy, and fun for coffee, tea or a quick bite.
Plenty of parking in the city garage across the street.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank lowell159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2015

Was ok not too thrilled. Don't have much to say other than it seemed more like a truck rest area place to me.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

Good coffee, good selection of other hot drinks, healthy breakfast options (veggie breakfast burrito - yay!), excellent salads that go beyond the traditional for lunch on the run. It's nice to know that whatever I order will be fresh and sustainably grown. Great addition to Watsonville for food on the go, as well as a nice place to hang out and get a bit of work done.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Landa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Visitors to Watsonville shouldn't miss this locally-owned cafe/bakery/gallery. Whether you're just in the mood for cappuccino (made with Santa Cruz-roasted Verve coffee beans) or hungry for a freshly-prepared chicken croissant sandwich, stop in here. The cafe has comfortable seating areas and great light through the floor-to-ceiling windows on either side. Every month there's a new show of photography, painting, collage--reasonably priced if you like the artist. And now the cafe regularly hosts a local brewer's night. The spectacular baked goods can be enjoyed onsite or special-ordered for birthdays or weddings. I wish every little town had a cafe like this one.
Check their website for delicious lunch specials that change daily.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kekerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I take my kids here regularly, when we go to the public library. Great coffee & great sandwiches. But, the goodie here is they actually know how to bake! I can't tell you how many times I have bought a baked good treat while at a bakery/coffee shop & regretted it. Most bakeries, don't seem to know how to bake. They know how here.
The lemon cookies are one of our favorites. They are a regular item. Pumpkin Whoopie Pies are amazing, if you come in the fall. Another special bakery item that blew my mind were the S'mores Cupcakes. Graham muffins, filled with ganache & topped with mini marshmallows. Wow!!

The only thing that I think is negative here - I wish they had more regular height tables. The tall tables with bar height chairs can not be used be families with young children, or by the elderly, or anyone who not very nimble. They do have some regular height tables. Just not enough, in my opinion.

Date of visit: July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Second Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Second Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing