We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
137
13
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stephanie and michael pinecrest lake wine and cheese cooked breakfast yosemite national park gracious hosts lovely bed and breakfast living room forest view home from home weekend stay fresh fruit perfect stay each evening each morning short drive twain
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

From reading previous reviews I expected our stay to be different. We were disappointed. Michael was very pleasant and chatty. I found Stephanie to be rude and very unfriendly and that made my husband & I very uncomfortable. The room was fine, 2 mattresses on top of each other, comfy bed, the AC was controlled by the owners so we had to ask to turn it on. The cheese & wine at 5pm was a very nice touch. We met some lovely guests staying there. Twain Harte itself was very close with a couple of nice restaurants. We didn’t enjoy the cooked breakfast on either morning. The fruit was nice at breakfast. We would not return.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Molly11Dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am so sorry that I made you uncomfortable and was rude. I broke my front tooth and am quite embarrassed to speak or smile, which is no reason to be rude and make you feel uncomfortable. I still am without the tooth and seems it will be this way for another week. Wish I had know about your dislike of the breakfasts - I would have been happy to cook something different for you. Again, I apologize, as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay. Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We last visited McCaffrey House four years ago and it was wonderful then and it was wonderful again this time. Stephanie and Michael do make you feel that it is your home, nothing is too much trouble, if you want any help at all just ask Stephanie :)
The breakfasts were lovely and on the day when we left early to go to Yosemite we all got packed breakfasts. Two of us are vegetarian so Stephanie made sure that everything she made us was vegi friendly.
We have stayed three times with Stephanie & Michael and cannot wait till our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WayneRManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Sorry it's taken so long for me to respond to your lovely review. I had to call TripAdvisor to find out there was a new way to do this. Anyway ---- loved having you all stay with us again. Michael and I remember when the girls were just little ones and now they are so grown up - funny how that happens. Hope you enjoyed your time at the beach and look forward to seeing you again. Hugs and such, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Love love love it here what a perfect retreat. Stephanie and Michael are wonderful hosts -we feel so much at home here. Rooms are gorgeous spacious and sparkling clean. Brekky’s amazing, something different each morning. Drinks on the porch each evening is bliss. We have met some wonderful people here -an added bonus. I can’t recommend this place high enough. It is perfect.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Linda and Rob - Thanks for the great review - glad you arrived home safely after all your travels. Have the beginning of an email to send off. As I said before - it was so fun having you two here - you were like ship cruise directors - getting everyone together for drinks and laughter. Look forward to your return. Steph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Stay was ok. The room was nice and big and very quiet around because directly at a forest. The air con is a bit old and makes some noise. But it cooled down in the night so we could switch it off. Stephanie, the owner, was really nice and helpful with our questions

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks Sandra for your kind review. I agree with you about the air conditioner and have asked our air conditioner company when it should be replaced - always the same answer - when it's broken. I hope the rest of your trip was pleasant. Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We loved it! Everything is taken care of in great detail buy by both hosts. The house and spot are breathtaking. The photos on the website are very much like the real thing.
Wi-Fi was good... Very important to our 2 teenage boys. Beds were great, everything very clean, company during complementary wine@ 5pm was great, freshly cooked breakfast with seasonal fruit very nice!
We had a great time, wouldn't hesitate to come back.
Thanks so much Stephanie

Regs Brigitte Tops

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brigitte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smccaffrey, Owner at McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you Brigitte for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you can return someday.. As always Ollie was so sad to see the boys leave - thanks again. Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews