We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Ok

This a convenient ski resort right off I-80. The weather was bad so it wasn’t crowded the condition... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2018
emorga
,
Rome, Georgia
Good Beginner Slope

We taught our daughter to ski here when she was 4 & 5 years old. It is perfect for the price and... read more

Reviewed 6 March 2018
AllyG99
,
Auburn, California
via mobile
Read all 32 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Truckee
from US$150.00
More Info
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
7
12
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
12
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet kids ski resort snow lift skiing parking season
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

A great little ski resort for families. Just a mile off the freeway with lots of easy parking. All the usual resort amenities and very reasonable prices. Planet Kids is a unique and awesome experience for young kids which starts with a sleigh ride! Worth a special trip.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank 1Truckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is a fun place. We like the people here and have a good time with our daughter. She likes the Planet Kids and we enjoy trading off ski'ing. Lunch and beers at the main lodge is pretty good.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Ksquaredracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We had to run an errand up in Truckee so we decided to make a weekend of it. Since my kids never skied before, we decided take in tubing. Soda Springs was really nice and well organized. Believe it or not, since there was a storm approaching the place was not crowded at all. And the storm was minimal at best. We had a great time I had wonderful food at the lodge. If you want to save some money, go on their website and buy the lift tickets there.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Monsterzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

All the snow activities are so much fun. Staff was very nice. Kids and adults had lot of things to do in the snow park.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank SituLalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Our first time here, the result of a mixed group wanting to have "a snow day" - everything considered this seemed a good choice. We were looking specifically for snow tubing for the two younger adults in the group, while the elders and the 7 month old baby just hung out and chilled. We arrived 90 minutes before closing - a little less time than we planned but it was enough this time - and promptly got to work. The snow tube slope is past far end of the one main parking lot, so the adults took off and we took time on the main lodge deck and later inside the dining area for use of the carpeted floor for a play space. Worked out well, actually. The fee for the day is $34, which is fair and includes the tube (personal equipment is prohibited). The slopes are groomed, and there is a conveyer belt to take you back up - if you're in a hurry and want to give your calves a workout, you can also walk or run back to the top. We saw video from the "youngsters" and the tubes really move !! We couldn't see them from the lodge, and they said they'd come again so I guess it's a win! The lodge itself is like s high school cafeteria - a walk through commissary with various fried foods, pizza slices or whole ones made to order, and a variety of refreshments - including beers for those frazzled parents. Overall not bad, but I would like to see a lodge where people can sit and wait - fireplace maybe ? Something more comfortable than plastic stacking chairs, for sure. Not everyone there will be skiing or snow tubing, after all. It is the oldest ski facility in California, from what I understand, and it offers a lot for kids - lessons, a "go cart" track, snow tubing small style - so it is a greater place for kids and teens to ski and all that than the backcountry tracks elsewhere offer. Conveniently located about a mile off I-80 at Soda Springs, a little south of Donner Lake.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Mister-Markie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews