We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Great Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
 view from the south
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 view from the south
House from entry driveway view from south
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
view from the south
House from entry driveway
view from south
view from fireplace to stairs
view from stairs to fireplace
kitchen
dining/sunroom
pond from porch
the pond
Loft (master) bedroom
Master bathroom
Master bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Trinidad, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kelly D
Clovis, California
1 review
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a relaxing vacation. The house was just as described, with the added bonus of a mama deer and her babies strolling through in the early evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The remoteness of the property.
Liked least: The beds were on the floor instead of on a frame.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funkex6
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful home in peaceful location close to the amazing Trinidad Beach and Patricks Point State Park. Kitchen had everything we needed for cooking meals. Disappointed in the demands to avoid using island surface due to possible staining. Expected more than a mattress/box spring on the floor in master. Soiled rugs and bed duvet. Yard did not appear to be 7 acres. Overgrown and unable to walk past small bridge by pond. Overall we enjoyed our stay despite the above concerns.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thanks for your review of our property and welcome your feedback in detail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayorMcSt...
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful landscaping, quiet and serene.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here during a 3 day stop in the Redwoods. The location (just outside of Trinidad) is perfect for someone looking to experience the Redwood parks. It's a short drive from Jedediah Smith and Prairie Creek parks which have some of the best old growth stands of Redwoods.

The property is beautifully landscaped (we were there in spring when the rhododendrons were blooming), very quiet and secluded.

The property has all the amenities that you would need in a vacation home including laundry, a fireplace and charcoal grill. We cooked most all of our meals at the property, so we didn't eat out much, but Trinidad had some nice restaurant options and the property is within walking distance of the Larrupin Cafe which is supposed to be very good.

The only negative I had was that some of the finishes in the house (white carpet, unsealed pine counter top, softwood floors) aren't particularly kid friendly.

I would definitely recommend this property, it's not much more expensive than surrounding "lodges" and much nicer and more secluded.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thanks for your positive review of our property. We worried primarily about making the stairs and upstairs child safe, with the baby gate and netting.

If we ever replace the floors in the long term future, we will replace the soft pine. We'll seal the butcher block kitchen island this fall. However, I think will still be vulnerable to stains since it's wood. Glad you had a good time in the area, and yes it's well below comparable lodging in price. Thanks so much, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithu14
Fremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Serene stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the second time we are renting this place. We once again loved the stay at this beautiful house! The house is perfectly kept and beautifully landscaped. We also visited Fern Canyon recommended by the owner of the house and it turned out to be a perfect spot even for the my 2 yr old. We all had a great time there. Thanks Lesley for all the tips and recommendations!! Would be definitely coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed our house both times. We only can get there 2 or three times a year and always find the quiet setting and beautiful surroundings to be restoring. In July we Kayaked on Stone Lagoon, and loved the experience. It's North before Orick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Tnanks for your glowing review. We love the house too. We'll continue to work on and fix any problems. During our last visit my husband cleared the brush so it's possible to walk further than the pond. The seven acres are mostly overgrown, and Rob is gradually trying to clear the underbrush to creat a more walkable forest setting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing