We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner = Wonderful!”

The Gambling Cowboy
Ranked #13 of 485 Restaurants in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Celebrated our 31st Anniversary with another couple and made reservations for 7:30. Arrived a few minutes early and were seated promptly. Drinks and appetizers - bacon wrapped scallops and cowgirl kisses (both were delicious!) and we ordered our steaks.

I had the traditional ribeye with cowboy style potatoes. The steak was perfectly grilled to medium rare and was seasoned just right. Sides were all delicious and just the right amount (we did not order any additional sides).

Others had the roasted ribeye which comes sliced similar to prime rib and was delicious and cooked to medium rare.

Desserts were shared - a creme brûlée which was perfect and a toffee pecan cheesecake, also delicious.

Great food, excellent attentive service and cowboy atmosphere made for an excellent celebration! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank jamesgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We visited The Gambling Cowboy for lunch in December. Because this is in Southern CA we were able to sit outside and enjoy lunch on an 80 degree afternoon.

We started with two appetizers that included the calamari with chili sauce and stuffed jalapeños wrapped in bacon. Both were fantastic but the chili sauce on the calamari was fantastic. I would highly recommend the calamari.

As an entree I split a steak burger with my wife. The burger was really good and had excellent flavor. One thing to keep in mind is that the burger is pretty big. It is definitely something that could be split between two people. It also came with steak fries and they were crispy and very tasty.

One thing that was disappointing was the kids menu. Both of my kids ordered pasta with butter and Parmesan cheese but there was little cheese on the pasta. In fact, I tried a bite and found that much of it was pasta that had nothing on it. We were able to ask for additional Parmesan and after adding it found the taste to be fine.

Overall, we would go back to The Gambling Cowboy again. I would like to go back and try their dinner options. If they are as good as the lunches it would be worth it!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank mjogg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

The decorations are very true to the cowboy theme. The food is plentiful and well seasoned, which is not true of all steakhouses. We had the rib eye steak with garlic mashed potatoes. It came with corn and mixed vegetables. We were glad that we hadn't ordered an appetizer or salad because it would have been too much food. The prices are reasonable for the quality of the food.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pwalk164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We wanted steak on our last nite in temecula so, we asked at one of the tasting rooms and automatic was told to go here. Locals and tourist alike. Menu offers various choices of seafood in addition to the steaks. I had the seafood special which was scallops over a bed of risotto and brussel sprouts, the scallops was seared and cooked perfectly.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LLC917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was decorated most festively for Christmas. The staff was very friendly and the service was outstanding. My top sirloin steak was delicious as were the sides. The salad with the raspberry vinaigrette was marvelous. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank dianez681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gambling Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing