We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cottages, great breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Tahoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy cottages, great breakfasts”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We've stayed at Tahoma Meadows most winters since 2002. Dick & Ulli, the proprietors, are lovely and welcoming, and have put a lot into improving the cottages over the years. Accommodations are basic but homely and comfortable, and the breakfasts are the perfect start to a day's skiing. Last year we also went to one of the off-property houses that they manage (Cedar House), which was fab; going back to try out the Forest Chalet this year.
Only downside is that if you don't get breakfast if you rent one of the larger cottages (which you have to if going with a family). Also they seem to have increased prices quite a lot in peak season in the last few years, so it's now fair value rather than good value compared with other vacation house rentals.

Room Tip: Pets allowed in most of the cottages - see their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    38
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
96
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I found a special on this property through a Living Social deal for two mid-week nights. I contacted the resort after purchasing the deal and picked a Sun-Mon date at the first of Thanksgiving week. We stayed in the Berry Patch, which is a few steps from the office and area where the wonderful breakfasts are served. It is a cozy room with a king bed, gas fireplace, closet, small table, and a small, but very serviceable bathroom with a clawfoot tub. The gas fireplace was the heat source and it kept the room nice and toasty with the help of the ceiling fan. Our room even had some peekaboo glimpses of the lake. The breakfasts were served by super nice folks each morning (the owners were out of town for the holiday) and included very tasty egg dishes, potatoes, fruit, and pastries, with coffee, tea, and OJ. We spent our full day hiking the numerous trails nearby, including the Rubicon trail over to Vikingsholm. It was nice to be here during the shoulder season and having these places to ourselves- we just dressed for the weather. We were sad to leave and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: In the summer when the road is busy, I'd choose a room further from the office and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphys, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Special birthday for my outdoor guy so I made reservations in Tahoma which is near great hiking trails. The B&B Cottages are aptly named - ours was the Birdhouse and was decorated nicely to fit the theme. Bed was reasonably comfortable and we enjoyed the porch in front. Dogs are welcome in many of the cottages and even receive their own little basket complete with dog treats, poop bags, and more! These cottages are close walking distance to Sugar Pine Park, a great pizza place, and a general store. The best aspect of these cottages - a superb breakfast. Three kinds of egg dishes, fresh muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, plenty of orange juice, bagels, potatoes, YUM! And they sell their breakfast cookbook for a reasonable price. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're taking your dog be sure and ask for a dog friendly cottage as not all of the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Tahoma Meadows is a lovely property, both peaceful and quiet. We've been twice now, both times during the summer. If you are an early riser, Berry Patch cottage is for you as it gets the morning light. But I also like the Bears Den because of the afternoon sun, and the deck outside of the room. They serve a delicious breakfast in the mornings, wine and cheese in the afternoon. The staff is very warm and friendly. Linda, the office manager, is just wonderful, and a valuable source of information for recommending things to see and do in the area! Looking forward to coming back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlittledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Pros: Most of the staff is friendly, cabin is in quiet location, Dick was very helpful with his advice on where to hike and on areas of road construction. Comfortable bed. Mini refrig is a convenience but it did ruin veggies and fruit because it was too cold.
Cons: TV in breakfast room is for the benefit of staff. Most of the guests want to "get away from it all." When I asked if, since none of the guests wanted it on, the TV could be turned off, the staff just muted it. That meant sitting with my back to the lake view if I wanted to have my back to the TV.
Cabin was clean when we arrived, but the daily cleaning seemed to be just emptying the trash and making the bed. The tub and sink were not cleaned and vacuuming was sketchy if it was done at all.
Cabin is in fairly good shape, but one window wouldn't stay open without something to prop it open, the screen had holes, the bath stopper did not attach to the chain.
Only was given one hand towel for two people. We did get two bath towels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoma
19.8 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
22.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
8.1 km away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
20.3 km away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
880 reviews
19.9 km away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#3 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages

Property: Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
Address: 6821 W. Lake Blvd, Tahoma, CA 96142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy cottages on Lake Tahoe's west shore. Just 8 miles from Tahoe City we have cottages for couples and families. Tahoma Meadows B&B also accepts pets in over half of our cottages. Skiing at Homewood Mtn Resort or spending the day paddling at Sugar Pine Point State Park are just a few of the things you can do just minutes from our doorstep. We look forward to helping you make your stay here at Lake Tahoe one of the best vacations that you have ever had. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoma Meadows b&b Cottages Hotel Tahoma
Tahoma Meadows Bed And Breakfast Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing