We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday House
Nearby Hotels
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$334
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firelite Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$141
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferrari's Crown Resort(Kings Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Glen Lodge(Tahoe Vista)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tahoe Sands Resort(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Vistana Inn(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
26
21
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
21
8
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We found this place online when looking for dog-friendly lodging in the North Tahoe area. What a pleasant surprise! The small inn reminds me of a Cape Cod cottage. Quaint, cozy, cottage-type suites, a little run down (thread-bare arm-rests on sofa) but clean and comfortable. The inn is literally situated right on the lake, with a jacuzzi propped up on the rocks on shore. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the surf. A large sun deck out back has a barbeque that would be great for a gathering with friends. The innkeeper, Alvina, is so sweet! She was so friendly and helpful and even brought our pooch a welcome basket with treats, towel and a blanket.

If you're looking for a luxury resort, this is not it. But if you want a friendly, comfortable and cozy place to stay on the lake, you've come to the right place!

A couple of other random comments...
-The Tahoe Cross Country ski area is nearby with several trails where you can take your dog with you.
-This is not a B&B and there are no restaurants near the premises. There are a couple of good restaurants within a short drive, though.
-Alvina teaches wind surfing in the summer!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhenDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon. When we checked in the owner was pretty hostile to us, being unclear about contacting us about running our card at a second date for the remainder of our stay, the card had expired, and she lectured us about how she ran it "eight times and it wouldn't work" 14 days before our stay. We booked a room for three nights. The view was by far the best part about the stay. Numerous times when we came back in to the holiday house after a day at the lake and she asked us if we were checking in. The room also reeked of dog pee. When we told her this she condescendingly asked us what she was supposed to do about it. The microwave also smelled like something died in it. The couch cushions were riped along with the bed cover. We also had trouble with the stove top working and at times the electricity was shut off. The deck was also in disrepair and during our stay one of the guests sliced his foot on a lose nail. The view was amazing, but it was difficult to spend time in the room because of the smell. It cost about 200 dollars a night, and we could have found a lot better place with better service for a lot less. You do no not want to stay here. We regretted our choice. Though it was still a lovely honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sparkiebarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

This is the second time we stayed at the Holiday House. We were not looking for "luxury" (i.e. bland) accommodation, and this place has wonderful views that let you really appreciate Lake Tahoe's beauty. The owner is very helpful and was again full of tips and info. Highly recommended if you want something comfortable with excellent views.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank OssianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

i recently booked a two night last minute stay at the holiday house. i booked online and accidently got the booking days mixed up. i booked tues-thurs. instead of wed-frid. i was unaware i had done this. on the tuesday at three in the afternoon i received a phone call in the afternoon asking when i was going to arrive and i said three o'clock. the manager asked me three o'clock in the morning? and said no in the afternoon. she said alright. when we arrived the next day she said "where were you". i said what do you mean? well story cut short i had to pay for both nights. i have worked in the hospitality/foodservice industry for years, i am upset that not a word was said that this seemed strange to her during our conversation. i understand i am at fault, but where is the customer service in pointing out my mistake beforehand? when i asked her all i got was a "there were all these three's it was confusing". i picked this spot for the view, the hot tub{which i never got to use for it was locked up the entire time}, proximity to other activities and because i like to support smaller business. i am sorry i did. i feel ripped off and brushed off. for my second day i found something half the price and less headache.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank chillmantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

We stayed at the Holiday House in Lake Tahoe July 22-24, 2006. Accommodations were exactly as expected..not plush but very good with a nice lay-out to the rooms. Each has a living room with murphy bed or fold-out couch, plus a seperate bedroom with queen bed. All include fridge, microwave, and stove so you can cook in the room. Grills are provided outside. Since Tahoe is expensive, this can provide a savings of sort. The best things about the place are: the VIEWS and the personalized service. The owner was very helpful and attentive to our needs...I am a smoker and knew it was not allowed in the rooms so she was helpful in placing me in an end unit where I could smoke outside and not bother other guests. The motel is at the top of Lake Tahoe on the CA side with unecumbered views of the lake...beautiful. A very good stay. Highly recommended. Especially for couples traveling with children in need of some private time and romance. FYI...there's a full-length mirror at the head of the bed in the private bedroom. Hope you all enjoy it as much as we did!

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank gotarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews