We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Respite and Repast”
Review of CROSSINGS

CROSSINGS
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bar, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Crossings is a beautifully built, fine dining restaurant located in the historic Mission District of South Pasadena. We offer modern interpretations of classic American food focused on serving only the best ingredients available. Food is prepared in our open kitchen located in the center of the first floor of the brick and mortar building first constructed in 1908. The extensive and always growing wine program is housed in a wine loft, located between the first and second floors, completely visible from the first floor dining room and street. Behind the building is a beautiful patio, nestled under the branches of a 100 year old oak tree and right next to the Metro Gold Line light rail, offering a very urban experience. Upstairs at Crossings features two more dining rooms to enjoy the food, service, and ambience of Crossings. We look forward to helping create a wonderful experience for you at Crossings!
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

On a warm, humid night, went with good friend to this welcoming and fun restaurant in South Pasadena ... all the food ordered was tasty and prepared with divine care. The drinks are cool and creative and named with a film noir flair, like Red Siren! The chef and all the staff are friendly and sensitive to a fault. Crossings is a dining diamond in South Pasadena!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 342johno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

We dined here yesterday. My seafood selections (oysters, hamachi crudo, hamachi collar) were delicious. The hamachi collar came with homemade tortillas, crema and roasted chilies so you could make little tacos with the meal. My daughter had the al pastor, roasted pork with pineapple, which came with roti, but she ended up stealing my tortillas. My husband opted for the halibut, which he enjoyed. We had some of the specialty cocktails, which were also tasty. Service was excellent. I was surprised there wasn't more of a crowd for a Saturday night but we enjoyed the relative peace of the restaurant's upstairs dining room. This is a pricey option for South Pasadena (truth be told most of the restaurants here are) but it was well worth the splurge. We live within walking distance and we're now sorry we haven't tried Crossings sooner.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SouthPasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Loved this place previously, but the new menu is trying a little too hard and the flavors are not quite as exemplary as before. Still a wonderful ambience, but the menu feels more restrictive than inventive, and chef vs customer led, as if the food sounded good on paper, but underwhelmed in practice. Fabulous oysters though, and good cocktails. But please, nail that wine ordering iPad to the wall, it’s a cheap chain detail that no upscale restaurant should ever embrace. We’ll give it one more shot.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank USBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We had the Blackboard Eats prix fixe meal with wine. Pros: (1) The wines were excellent.
(2) The homemade bread was good.
(3) The app, salad, and desserts were excellent.
Cons: (1) The wine pours were really only “tastes” and were poured too far ahead of the course. We had one or two sips while waiting for the food, and by the time it arrived we had only one or two sips left.
(2) The roast chicken was dry and overcooked, and the accompanying farro dish was flavorless.
Maybe it was the only time the chef didn’t cook a fabulous entree, but we can’t afford to give them another chance for $100 plus tip.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank lhiestand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile


We have dined at Crossings several times since it opened and had always enjoyed the food and the environment. We invited friends to join us on our recent visit and we were disappointed. First of all, the tables looked like the restaurant was not expecting guests, very sparse. There were white tablecloths with just water glasses set. Not that you need a lot of things on the table but it was uninviting. It looks like they were trying hard to be different but went way beyond the “minimal” look. The only menus we received when seated were the drink menus until our friends arrived. What’s with that?

The menu is typical of many restaurants where they have a limited number of entrees. The entrees don’t include any sides and they do not offer sides. One couple ordered soup and the other ordered a tomato and burrata cheese salad. Both of these were very small portions. The prices were high for what was on the plates for appetizers and entrees.

The only good things were the servers and the environment which was on the quieter side since most restaurants are very noisy. I am sorry to say that the food offering appears to be very pretentious.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CROSSINGS also viewed

 
South Pasadena, CA
Pasadena, CA
 

Been to CROSSINGS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing