We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Sonora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The hotel was nearly booked when we arrived w/o a reservation after camping for several days in the Eastern Sierra.. My wife wanted a bathtub and the desk representative was able to find us a suitable room with a Jacuzzi tub.

The room was fully equipped with microwave, fridge, coffee, wifi, etc. It featured a nice little patio just outside the sliding glass door. Good place to enjoy morning coffee.

The hotel comes with an on-premises restaurant.featuring both American and Indian food. We had a good lunch there upon arrival and the next morning took advantage of the full complimentary American breakfast to order. No prefab motel breakfast here.



All-in-all, the Sonora Best Western was just the place to recharge after our camping trip.

Room Tip: Had room 157 w/ Jacuzzi tub and nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

You are correct! We have been voted the "best hotel in the region" for 11 years! Thank you for your nice review and all the details. Other guests will appreciate your opinions. Our goal is a 3 diamond hotel with five diamond service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Ugh, when we pulled up I wondered if we had made a mistake. The rooms were so-so, but they did have enough electrical outlets, the bathroom vanity was outside the bathroom so that helped with getting ready in the morning. (by the way, this hotel is expensive.....)

What sets this place apart is the staff. What a wondeful group of people. They were so helpful.

An added bonus is the coupon for breakfast next door. AMAZING food. Simply amazing. I think there might be new owners and they offered Indian food in addition to the very LARGE menu. For dinner, We just had burgers but when the table near us had their Indian Chicken delivered OMG we wanted to reorder!!!

The breakfast was great too. So much food! And the wait staff were simply amazing. Just such nice people who really, really work hard.

I would stay here again just for the food!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suzsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are happy you enjoyed our great teammates, the wonderful free breakfast, the hotel room. The new owners of the Restaurant have added some Indian dishes, which seem popular and they have kept the existing menu, also. The old owners are still onsite, helping out. We do not understand your other concerns, but feel free to contact me, directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed here when we went to Yosemite. We went into the Big Oak Flat entrance. Biggest town near entrance. The breakfast is fantastic. You eat at a full service restaurant. The rooms were updated. Overall good stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DallasSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

We are glad the your enjoyed the beautiful Highways 120/108 entrance to Yosemite National Park. We appreciate your comments about our free breakfast and updated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Nice place to stay if you are in Sonora, CA. Everything was very clean, nice peaceful balcony to relax on and offered your choice of four breakfasts at restaurant located on Motel's property. We will stay here again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank nanna12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for your compliments about our clean Hotel, with free full hot breakfast and wooded view. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have always enjoyed staying at Best Westerns and this one was recommended to us but our stay was awful. The bed had serious issues and we should have said something immediately but didn't, we were tired and didn't. The middle of the king bed peaked in the middle like a roof top when you sat or laid down on it so ended up sleeping in the middle and rolling down most of the night. I did say something to the staff the next morning and they gave me a Starbucks card so they did try to make the stay better. I hope they corrected the issue for the next guests.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinman_CA, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We will try to track down your reservation and see which room you stayed in. We have never has this sort of complaint. Actually, many guests asked where to buy our beds. Please consider call me at hotel so I can investigate your complaint. Thank you for feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.2 km away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
4.3 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
418 reviews
17.9 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
17.9 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
595 reviews
22.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Ave, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: €76 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing