We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
235
140
40
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
140
40
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egg casserole teddy bears gold country rocking chairs gold rush homemade breakfast breakfast room historical hotel modern amenities fresh fruit nice pool queen room wonderful stay san francisco yosemite cereal innkeepers
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Gunn house is a wonderful place to stay in Sonora.I booked a room for my business trip to Sonora.Rooms was so clean and charming.Bed was so comfortable,i slept like a baby.
Breakfast was delicious and host was very kind and helpful,i asked for decaffeinated coffee and he got me right way.Ricky the host made my day.Thank you guys,will definately stay there on my next trip.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

What a fantastic review you wrote for us regarding your stay here at the Gunn House Hotel! We always try and go the extra mile for our guests, and I am very happy your experience reflected that during your time with us. Thank you for the review and positive feedback, and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Gunn house is so charming historic hotel in gold rush country town Sonora.All the rooms are so clean ,antique ,charming and comfortable.They have very big nice and clean pool to relax.The staff is very friendly,professional and accommodating .My family had 5 rooms and all were very charming.
Buffet breakfast in the morning was so delicious and host was very cheerful and helpful.Gunn House Hotel is on walking distance to all downtown antique gift stores,restaurants.Gary the manager recommended us Diamond back grill was awesome restaurant .We had a great family dinner at Diamond back grill.We will be back for sure,thanks guys.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jazzyb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Owner at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hello Jazzy, thank you for your review. We are always very pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope to serve you again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Old hotel, rooms big partially renoveted. Front rooms sit on the road and noisy. Breakfast is also strange. Many cakes. It seems they want to keep some of the history but it doesn't go aling with the new stuff

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Offer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Owner at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Hello Offer, thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Gunn House Hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences or noise you may have experienced during your stay. Part of having a downtown location is some noise unfortunately...we hope to serve you better next time, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with full of characters,great history,nice and comfortable beds and rooms,big pool,buffet breakfast was great,friendly staff.
Gunn house is very close to all gift shops,restaurants,gas stations.It was wonderful stay in motherlode gold rush country.Thank you Gunn house,will be back for sure.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kulwant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your time, and hope to serve you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful little gem in a great little town. We did not know what to expect and did not want to stay in Yosemite. We weren’t sure it being a very small town and not sure what the service would be like ...... kinda mountain folks you know. Wow we were so wonderfully surprised. What service. We met the mgr, Gino. He made sure all of our needs were met, gave us recommendations for excellent dining, great places to see historical which is our favorite. Wineries both in Sonora and Murphy’s. We had a full weekend and could not see everything Gino recommended. We need to go back, and stay longer. Thank you Gino for making our stay so memorable and making us feel like we were the only guests there and the hotel was full!!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gdsportmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

What a fantastic review you wrote for us regarding your stay here at the Gunn House Hotel! We always try and go the extra mile for our guests, and I am very happy your experience reflected that during your time with us. Thank you for the review and positive feedback, and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews