We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss Hotel
Nearby Hotels
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$473
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Pueblo Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$505
US$364
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledson Hotel(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
US$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Hotel(Sonoma)
US$300
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
43
43
7
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
43
7
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood raviolithe pulled pork sandwichrear patiogreat people watchingeuropean feelsonoma squarehistoric buildingperfect locationstreet sideliving areawine countryhotel restauranttwo nightschecking outcomfy bedanother coupleglass of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We ate at the restaurant for a nice easy dinner. Location is great and outside patio is nice. Service was good but food was fair. Just not great flavors, taste etc, a little over priced for what you get quality just okay

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

As it sits in the middle of the Plaza, the location is great if you want to be in the center of Town. The hotel, however, for $240 a night was the worst money spent. The rooms, though it was spacious, was incredibly dated, the couches were stained, the cushions were stained, and had absolutely no character aside from the balcony which overlooked the Plaza. The bathroom was clean as well as the bed and the bedding.
The bar downstairs will keep you up until well past 2:00AM with its very loud and obnoxious music. There is absolutely no sound proofing, as it is a very old building. The dumpster got dumped well before 7:30AM - which is really very loud. For $240/night, it may be worth it for some to stay there for the location. Hotels in the area are all expensive, however, I would at least expect great service for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler32103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed here for one night and it suited our needs just fine. We had just traveled all day and needed a place to crash that was in a great location. Since the hotel is a very old building it had slanted floors in our room which added to the charcter. The view of the town square was great for people watching.

We had no problems with the noise since we were so tired. We fell right to sleep and were not bothered by the other people having a good time downtairs.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritasmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I stayed here with a party of friends. We all had different rooms. Everyone complained about the noise. It was impossible to sleep. The front rooms were most affected by the bar and restaurant just underneath, the back rooms by the throb of the many boilers, air con units and heaters which operated seemingly all night. It was like being in the staff quarters of a cheap cruise ship.

The staff were indifferent and unfriendly and the breakfast was merely adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

After having no reservation at The Sonoma Hotel (no record of our reservation even though I had the email in my hand), then staying one night at the El Dorado Hotel (wonderful place), my husband was able to book us a room at the Swiss Hotel for two nights. Hoping to stay at the El Dorado for the three nights, the Swiss Hotel told us that if a room became available, our deposit would be refunded. No room became available and we stayed at the Swiss Hotel. The room was lovely and clean. But the nicest part about this hotel was the attitude and helpfulness of the staff (just like the El Dorado). These people could not be nicer. We were very pleased with the room and felt very fortunate that we were able to stay there. Great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtodd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews