We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in the centre of town”
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We booked into the Swiss Hotel out of season without a reservation and got a great deal on the room. The hotel itself is very historic and full of charm - particularly the covered porch on the second storey overlooking the main town square in Sonoma. The room was large, elegant, clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

We ate at the restaurant for a nice easy dinner. Location is great and outside patio is nice. Service was good but food was fair. Just not great flavors, taste etc, a little over priced for what you get quality just okay

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

As it sits in the middle of the Plaza, the location is great if you want to be in the center of Town. The hotel, however, for $240 a night was the worst money spent. The rooms, though it was spacious, was incredibly dated, the couches were stained, the cushions were stained, and had absolutely no character aside from the balcony which overlooked the Plaza. The bathroom was clean as well as the bed and the bedding.
The bar downstairs will keep you up until well past 2:00AM with its very loud and obnoxious music. There is absolutely no sound proofing, as it is a very old building. The dumpster got dumped well before 7:30AM - which is really very loud. For $240/night, it may be worth it for some to stay there for the location. Hotels in the area are all expensive, however, I would at least expect great service for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler32103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed here for one night and it suited our needs just fine. We had just traveled all day and needed a place to crash that was in a great location. Since the hotel is a very old building it had slanted floors in our room which added to the charcter. The view of the town square was great for people watching.

We had no problems with the noise since we were so tired. We fell right to sleep and were not bothered by the other people having a good time downtairs.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritasmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I stayed here with a party of friends. We all had different rooms. Everyone complained about the noise. It was impossible to sleep. The front rooms were most affected by the bar and restaurant just underneath, the back rooms by the throb of the many boilers, air con units and heaters which operated seemingly all night. It was like being in the staff quarters of a cheap cruise ship.

The staff were indifferent and unfriendly and the breakfast was merely adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.1 km away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
1.5 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
206 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 18 W Spain St, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5601
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: €92 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing