We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!”

LaSalette Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
LaSalette Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spain Street
Description: Fresh, Inventive Mediterranean and Iberian Cuisine in the heart of the Sonoma Valley Wine Country. Seafood and Portuguese Cuisine are our specialties. We offer a unique variety of fresh local and imported seafood specials daily including whole fish. The seafood selections on our menu are complimented by a variety of meat dishes ranging from the popular Pork Tenderloin stuffed with almonds, olives and figs to the, hard to find, Tripe Porto Style. Many of these dishes come steaming hot out of the wood-burning oven and fill the dining room with the exotic aromas of true Mediterranean cuisine. The menu reflects the commitment of Chef and Owner Manuel Azevedo to creating the unique culinary delights of his native Portugal and its neighbors. LaSalette Restaurant is proudly one of Zagat Surveys top rated restaurants in Sonoma. See our web site for the complete menu and a look inside our dining room, which features an open kitchen and decor that sends you back in time to old Lisbon.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The ambiance in this place was fantastic. Right in the heart of the town with great food and wine.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    204
    47
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding Luscious Meal”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had not visited La Salette in a long time and went there for an early dinner this evening. The meal was extraordinary. The diners had lamb tenderloin, sea bass (2) and branzino, the two kids split a pasta with cheese, chicken breast and grilled corn. Only one person had a starter and that was the white bean soup which was absolutely 1st rate, served up piping hot and exquisitely garnished. I tasted it twice to try to grasp the complexity of the flavors, we all agreed that it was very good (even the pint-sized diners liked it). The fish dishes were cooked to perfection but everyone tasted and RAVED about the wood oven roasted branzino which was cooked to perfection. The fish was scored for quick cooking, the skin was brown and crispy the meat tender. It came with a delicate vinaigrette and was luscious. The lamb was cooked perfectly med-rare and juicy, served with mashed root veggies and beautifully cooked Brussels sprouts. The two bass entrees were also wonderful, but those who ordered WISHED they had ordered the branzino. We had a very reasonably priced red wine. The presentation of all the foods was exceptional without being pretentious. The kids gobbled up their food. All the plates were wiped clean! Everyone left happy - no room for dessert. After so-so meals at other Sonoma kid-friendly restaurants - we're switching to La Salette because the food is great for adults and they went out of their way to serve up delicious kid-friendly options. Fantastic!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Operagal94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Sonoma”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We've been living and eating in Sonoma since 1985 -- and this is our favorite Sonoma restaurant, no question. La Salette is brilliant with fish and seafood (the boquerones, pulvinhos, caleirada and bacalhau are all divine), their lamb and feijoada are always succulent, and we've had some specials there that were to die for (the wild boar, omg). Wonderful service, wonderful staff, great ambience, always an exceptional and memorable dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank aratyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, snob magnet”
Reviewed 16 March 2012 via mobile

We had wonderful food here. For a first course we has white bean and fennel puréed soup finished with parsley oil, we both enjoyed it. We had the pork tenderloin for our main course, it was delicious and was plated beautifully. The only thing I didn't like was how close the table were, the restaurant was full of snobby people talking loudly and it took away from the experience. I guess I should not be surprised in Sonoma. The staff also did a great job serving us.

Helpful?
Thank TheVanNordens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The food, as well as the atmosphere, in the restaurant was very good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yelena1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LaSalette Restaurant also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to LaSalette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing