We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,519)
Filter reviews
1,519 results
Traveller rating
729
404
233
104
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
404
233
104
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sante restaurant bathing ritual water tower valet staff golf club self parking wine country main pool lobby bar junior suite complimentary bottle of wine main building hot springs wood burning fireplace beautiful property fitness center resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,519 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two days whilst on a three week tour of California.
It was a little unfortunate that we happened to stay here over the mothers day weekend.
We arrived very tired after a long trip and had to wait 2 hours for our room ( to be fair we had arrived early for check in). There was very little parking as the hotel was completely full.
Our room was very nice, well decorated, clean and comfortable, with a small balcony.
The restaurant was good for our first nights meal but unfortunately was closed on the Sunday as they had a Mother's Day brunch and so we're closed in the evening so we had to eat in the bar.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bab5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Office at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Sonoma Mission Inn for one night as part of a friends reunion weekend. While the grounds and property are beautiful, I am sad to admit that I am pretty disappointed by the overall experience. Especially as the room was about $600+ for one night.

The service:
One friend arrived first before we could check in. She dropped her back with the valet so she could go to a vineyard with us. No big deal. When we got back and asked to reclaim the bag, they couldn’t find it. Turns out it had bee left out on a bellhop cart for the entire time, out in the open. Not cool and there should be some basic protocols put into place to secure a guest’s luggage, or don’t offer the service.

The spa pool service was S-L-O-W. We showed up at 2 PM, not even during a lunch rush. It took 90 minutes to procure chips and salsa. I shutter at the idea of actually ordering a meal there when hungry. Additionally when we ordered some coffee drinks at the bar in the main lobby, the bartender took 20 minutes, still got the order wrong, and was really pretty rude about helping us.

The absolute kicker? On Sunday morning, housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:20 AM. That is ridiculous. Who is out of their room at 8:20 on a Sunday? This hotel needs to keep some core housekeeping hours or instruction. Oh and yes, we put the do not disturb sign and they knocked anyways. I am typing this review in annoyance as I can’t fall back asleep.

The amenities:
Self parking is incredibly limited, probably by design to get you to pay a $40 valet charge. Self parking was full the entire duration of our stay.

The spa. The $39 add on fee to visit the spa is ridiculous. Get it together and look at some European spa hotels, which include the spa facilities in their room fee. Why else would I come to this hotel? Of course, you could use the spa facilities if you booked a spa treatment, but they were all booked up for the weekend (we called a few weeks in advance). That again left us no options but to pay the fee (though they did give us a discount, so that was nice. But we had to ask for it). The spa itself is nice, especially the pool with underwater music. But it wasn’t more amazing than a pool at a Best Western.

The non-spa pool: we spent a few minutes at the non-spa pool before we figured out we needed to find the spa (confusing). That pool made me realize that of course I would pay the $39 spa charge, which didn’t allow children. At $600 a night I don’t want to hear screaming kids constantly splashing in gross green water.

Also, put up more signs on the property. We were constantly lost while walking around and staff didn’t provide instruction.

Unfortunately our chosen weekend coincided with Mother’s Day, which could maybe explain some of the slowness around service issues and incredibly inflated room rate.

I can’t say I would recommend this property to anyone, unless they got a screaming deal. There are hundreds of better resorts in this area who understand services and amenities. Go give them your money instead.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing experience at our resort. We certainly aim to provide a wonderfully memorable experience and I sincerely regret that we did not succeed for you this visit.

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary weekend over thanksgiving. Surely not the best time to have gotten married 25 years ago but the only time we had on our calendars. The hotel suite was beyond comfortable especially since it rained one day and we lounged around inside. We had a lovely fireplace and rose petals on our bed when we returned from dinner. It’s pet friendly so we brought out stinky yorkie who was delighted with the grounds and walkways. Although the hotel says they organize pet sitting - they really don’t .... I found a place myself so someone could stay in the room so she didn’t bark.
The hot pools were lovely although some tech dude was outside on his phone using his loud voice while we were trying to soak peacefully. The wine pairings for happy hour are a lovely event in the main lobby.
This was just after the fires so a strange somber vibe intown. Definitely a lovely upscale mission hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

I have stayed at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn many times and it never fails me. Everyone is very professional and friendly and go out of their way at needed times.
The grounds are clean and perfect. The Mission suite is my favorite room to stay in. Very comfortable bed. The tub, the showers are perfect. I always get the signature soap, lotion from the spa gift shop. Its the apricot cream. Room service is always brought up earlier than they say. Never have to wait for anything. The spa is one of the best and love the mineral pools. Cant wait until I return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank princessxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSMIGuestRelations, Executive Office at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is absolutely our pleasure to welcome you! It will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Your experiences will serve as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Colleen Valenti
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

My wife and i just returned from Fairmont Sonoma. We arrived on Wednesday, May 2 and checked out yesterday (May 5). This was the best vacation the two of us have ever had. Everyone on the staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. Everyone we came in contact with went out of their way to ensure we were getting the best service possible. The grounds were immaculate. The room was clean and well serviced. The food at the Sante restaurant was superb. The spa was very enjoyable. It was a cross-country trip for us coming from North Carolina, but we cannot wait to come back again in the next year.

Room Tip: our room was 130 which had a nice view of the pool, and was very convenient to the lobby
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews