We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
110
222
89
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
222
89
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels orange juice in town family room an older hotel pastry large room bit dated coffee pot walking distance plenty of parking location is great pool and hot tub visit solvang nothing fancy second floor mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel was an unexpected gem. Situated in the very cute village of Solvang. The staff and facilities were clean and friendly.I highly recommend this lodge to stay in! Everything was within walking distance and it has laundry done a few metres from the door.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank AnitaKripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us! We always love hearing from our guests, and hope that we will see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place is old, dated, and only moderately kept up. Our bed sagged in the middle. The two lounge chairs did not have a reading light any place close. Wifi in our room was spotty. Breakfast was good, but not overwhelming. Orange juice. Hardboiled eggs. Cereal. Danish. Instant oat meal. Coffee and tea. Bananas, apples,and raisins.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Milpitas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We use all of our guests reviews to help us improve all areas of our lodge, and hope that we may be able to prove our dedication to customer service. We hope to host you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The good? The price for downtown Solvang is right. The bad? The dated, rundown state of the place, complete with inadequate breakfast ("We're out of milk, sorry for the inconvenience!"). The ugly? The unclean bathroom upon our arrival. Note that photo. The hair scrunchie behind the toilet is inexcusable.

Room Tip: If you have cash, stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. Allow me to apologize that your stay at our lodge was not up to our own standards in regards to customer service. We will be revising our policies to ensure that these problems do not arise again. I do hope that we may host you again, so that we may show you our dedication to excellence and satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

It was obvious the management and ownership are lacking funds and struggling to run the place.
From the fixtures to cooling and heating system lacked modern and comfortable updates.
The bathroom fan was not only extremely noisy but also attached to the only light making it impossible to turn the light on.

Room Tip: Here's my advice. Do not bother staying here if you desire clean, peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations. We are currently renovating our lodge, and since we are still a family-owned business, it does take a bit longer to do so. It is our goal to have the entire lodge renovated as soon as possible to better serve our guests. We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us, but it is clear that in this case, we fell short. We hope that you may stay with us again so that we can prove just how deeply we care for our guests.

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Cozy, the nearest word for the Danish "hyggeligt". A bit old, but well looked after. Only a few hundred yards to towncenter.
Rooms on second floor are recommended. Some of them even has a balcony facing the poolarea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tigerfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we may be hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews