We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean rooms, continuous improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I’ve now stayed here a total of 4 times over the past 4 years. I stayed twice in room 11 and twice in room 25. All rooms are unique, so ask for what you want.

I will continue to stay here. In fact, I have my reservations already made for December, 2018. These are the things I really enjoy about the hotel:

1) clean rooms
2) comfortable beds
3) quiet rooms
4) convenient to town attractions
5) continuous improvements over time
6) competitive prices

What I’m most pleased about over time is the obvious plan the hotel has for continuous improvement and maintenance of the property. This is a mom and pop place and not a chain. It’s refreshing to see this level of dedication to ensure the ongoing upkeep of the property. For example, last year the reservation system was upgraded to allow us to make reservations a year in advance. This year my room had new pieces of furniture in it. It’s a nice and comfortable place to stay. It’s not perfect and there are still some upgrades that I’m sure will be done over time, but I’ll be back!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and describe what you want. There are lots of options.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank roadtripper2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are always dedicated to our guests and ensuring that our lodge is performing at the highest level of service and accommodation. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us, and hope that we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel was an unexpected gem. Situated in the very cute village of Solvang. The staff and facilities were clean and friendly.I highly recommend this lodge to stay in! Everything was within walking distance and it has laundry done a few metres from the door.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank AnitaKripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us! We always love hearing from our guests, and hope that we will see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place is old, dated, and only moderately kept up. Our bed sagged in the middle. The two lounge chairs did not have a reading light any place close. Wifi in our room was spotty. Breakfast was good, but not overwhelming. Orange juice. Hardboiled eggs. Cereal. Danish. Instant oat meal. Coffee and tea. Bananas, apples,and raisins.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Milpitas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We use all of our guests reviews to help us improve all areas of our lodge, and hope that we may be able to prove our dedication to customer service. We hope to host you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The good? The price for downtown Solvang is right. The bad? The dated, rundown state of the place, complete with inadequate breakfast ("We're out of milk, sorry for the inconvenience!"). The ugly? The unclean bathroom upon our arrival. Note that photo. The hair scrunchie behind the toilet is inexcusable.

Room Tip: If you have cash, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. Allow me to apologize that your stay at our lodge was not up to our own standards in regards to customer service. We will be revising our policies to ensure that these problems do not arise again. I do hope that we may host you again, so that we may show you our dedication to excellence and satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

It was obvious the management and ownership are lacking funds and struggling to run the place.
From the fixtures to cooling and heating system lacked modern and comfortable updates.
The bathroom fan was not only extremely noisy but also attached to the only light making it impossible to turn the light on.

Room Tip: Here's my advice. Do not bother staying here if you desire clean, peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations. We are currently renovating our lodge, and since we are still a family-owned business, it does take a bit longer to do so. It is our goal to have the entire lodge renovated as soon as possible to better serve our guests. We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us, but it is clear that in this case, we fell short. We hope that you may stay with us again so that we can prove just how deeply we care for our guests.

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#5 of 11 in Solvang
277 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
932 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.5 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: €81 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing