We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
King Frederik Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kronborg Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadsten House(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamlet Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atterdag Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowlark Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Corque(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landsby(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
107
220
88
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
220
88
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsorange juicein townan older hotelbit datedcorner roomfree continental breakfastpastrylarge roomwithin walking distancecoffee potpool and hot tubplenty of parkinglocation is greatvisit solvangcheck in was easynothing fancy
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place is old, dated, and only moderately kept up. Our bed sagged in the middle. The two lounge chairs did not have a reading light any place close. Wifi in our room was spotty. Breakfast was good, but not overwhelming. Orange juice. Hardboiled eggs. Cereal. Danish. Instant oat meal. Coffee and tea. Bananas, apples,and raisins.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Milpitas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We use all of our guests reviews to help us improve all areas of our lodge, and hope that we may be able to prove our dedication to customer service. We hope to host you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The good? The price for downtown Solvang is right. The bad? The dated, rundown state of the place, complete with inadequate breakfast ("We're out of milk, sorry for the inconvenience!"). The ugly? The unclean bathroom upon our arrival. Note that photo. The hair scrunchie behind the toilet is inexcusable.

Room Tip: If you have cash, stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. Allow me to apologize that your stay at our lodge was not up to our own standards in regards to customer service. We will be revising our policies to ensure that these problems do not arise again. I do hope that we may host you again, so that we may show you our dedication to excellence and satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

It was obvious the management and ownership are lacking funds and struggling to run the place.
From the fixtures to cooling and heating system lacked modern and comfortable updates.
The bathroom fan was not only extremely noisy but also attached to the only light making it impossible to turn the light on.

Room Tip: Here's my advice. Do not bother staying here if you desire clean, peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations. We are currently renovating our lodge, and since we are still a family-owned business, it does take a bit longer to do so. It is our goal to have the entire lodge renovated as soon as possible to better serve our guests. We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us, but it is clear that in this case, we fell short. We hope that you may stay with us again so that we can prove just how deeply we care for our guests.

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Cozy, the nearest word for the Danish "hyggeligt". A bit old, but well looked after. Only a few hundred yards to towncenter.
Rooms on second floor are recommended. Some of them even has a balcony facing the poolarea.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tigerfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we may be hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

visited in July for Brother's wedding. Had room on top floor/ corner/quiet side. My nieces raved about the 8' deep pool. Housekeeping was terrific. A/C worked well in 95 degree temps outside. Very clean. Adequate free breakfast until 10 SHARP. Close by everything in heart of town.

Front desk was great. I needed something printed and they were happy to accommodate. When needed minor fix for bathroom fan noise, it was immediately taken care of.

There are many, many choices in the town; but you would be happy to stay here.

Room Tip: If you love the pool, there are rooms right there- but won't be too quiet at times. Want quiet, let the front desk know when booking
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCallFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, General Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us! We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable, and hope that we may see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica L., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews