We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
80
0
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
0
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red moose the owner wonderful place the river place to stay pool table the entire resort gold rush town couple of weeks definitely stay here again best place in town tahoe city huge deck board games sardine lake great hiking private balcony
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

What could have been the worst couple days of our lives was turned into a great experience thanks to Jim and Buttes Resort.

My group of five friends and I were headed home to Sacramento from Truckee during heavy snowfall and found ourselves trapped between mudslides and an avalanche in a small town named Sierra City. Our nerves were shot because of the harrowing driving conditions and we were worried we couldn't find vacancy in the small town.

A very friendly local recommended we see if Buttes Resort had any vacancy and they had two cabins left for our group to fill. As soon as we got there the staff was warm and helpful and Jim the owner let us and the other strandees use the phone because there was no cell service.

The heavy snowfall and roadblocks kept us "stuck" in the cozy cabins for two days. For a portion of the time the storm had knocked out the power and Jim was very helpful and made sure we had flashlights and the supplies we needed to be comfortable. Everything in the town was closed due to the power outage and Jim arranged trips to the local store for food and the owner of the store even made a big skillet of eggs and bacon one morning out of genuine kindness and hospitality. When the power returned, we also made a trip to the saloon in town and had a great time for a couple hours with Jim, the store owner and other stranded travelers.

My group and I believe the service and hospitality we received from Jim and Buttes Resort was incredible especially under the tougher than usual conditions. The cabins had excellent views of the Yuba River and each cabin has a warm gas fireplace. The people in the town were welcoming and helpful with each interaction.

Because of Jim and the town we plan to make a trip back to Buttes Resort this summer and believe it can be a annual destination.

Thank you,

The Strandees

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saviandbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Buttes over New Years weekend. Jim, the owner, was again very helpful and accommodating. He had updated his website to let guests know in advance what was open and closed in the area during the winter and we planned ahead by taking plenty of food and drink with us. We were hoping for snow while we were there and the weather gods did not disappoint. Winter is a beautiful time of year to visit if you are looking for peace and quiet. Our cabin was well stocked with the kitchen items we needed to prepare food, and as we found on our previous trip, very clean. We will definitely return for another stay very soon.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdegaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

It is a perfect location for staying before or after hiking any of the great hiking trails like the Sierra Buttes overlook. We were there in the off season so not a lot of open restaurants nearby. However the friendly and informative proprietor (Jim) advised us to bring food, BBQ and eat in as (I believe ) ALL UNITS have nice kitchenettes with everything you need! The "resort" is right in the bluff above the river and below the Denice Sierra Buttes. The place is COZY, COMFY and CLEAN !

Room tip: All the rooms seem equally nice. Although some cabins have private decks with BBQs!
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatieWampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Nice, quiet, relaxing, beautiful. The owner, Jim, directed us to a couple of just right hikes. Clean, well maintained, nice common areas. Make sure a check out the user friendly and informative website.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrmackmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This is a great place to explore an unexplored part of California. Very centrally located to great hiking and bird watching (Yuba Pass and Sierra Valley). We did the Round Lake and Sierra Buttes trail and both are excellent day hikes (get used to the altitude before doing the Buttes). The rooms are comfortable, beds good and Jim is a helpful and attentive host. The only drawback for extended stays is the lack of places for dinner with only one restaurant open nearby for dinner. (Breakfast is covered with the Red Moose which is excellent). That did force us to go up to Cuccia's in Graeagle which the best food in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocofoodSanJoseCaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews