We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
79
0
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
0
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red moose the owner the river a great place to stay the entire resort gold rush town couple of weeks definitely stay here again tahoe city huge deck board games sardine lake pool table great hiking private balcony every morning claw foot tub
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Room 12, it was Excellent, and a Wonderful place to relax. Beautiful and clean, with a jetted bath that was delightful. We had a lovely view of the river from the deck .The Buttes Resort is the new destination that we call Heaven ! The Innkeeper did an exceptional job to make us feel welcome !

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank red58mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed in Room 1, which has its own parking space. The mattress is really firm and great to sleep on. The patio next to room 7 is exceptional with a great view to the river below, and just a great place to relax or visit with friends and the new owner. Jim is most helpful for anything you may need in your room, or info on where to go and what to do while in Sierra City. Red Moose cafe is just a few yards away, for great breakfasts. Snowmobilers and skiers take note, the Buttes will be open this winter.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EdS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I am still on a high after staying 4 days at the Buttes Resort in Sierra City. Jim, the owner and host was so friendly and accommodating to our group of 10, we all had a fantastic time. Sierra City is very small but there is so much to do and see in the area, although you will seriously be tempted to sit on your deck and just relax and look at the river or the mountains. The cabins are very clean and ours(cabin2) had a nice kitchen with all the essentials you would need and a very comfortable bed. Although with great food places in the area (the Red Moose next door was great) you will not need to cook unless you want to. HIGHLY RECOMMEND if you are looking for a clean and relaxing place to enjoy the quiet.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sdegaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stumbled upon this great place coming of the Pacific Crest Trail, looking for any place to stay - and what a pleasant find it turned out to be! We were in room 11 (they all are slightly different) with a deck in the back facing the Yuba River, a big bathroom, fridge, TV/DVD, coffee maker & toaster.
The room is wonderfully quiet and cool, with lots of space to spread out; just what we needed after the dusty, hot trails.
But the greatest asset of the resort is the owner Jim. You'll have to look very, very hard to find a more relaxed, helpful and just overall friendly hotel proprietor. I won't enumerate the things he did and offered to do for us, but I have never encountered this kind of helpfulness in any hotel I have been to, and Jim is completely genuine - he doesn't in the least come across as wanting to please guests. Just a great guy to hang out with.
(I am not normally a gushy person, nor do I write a lot of reviews; this is a special occasion!)

Also, the entrance to the property is one of the few spots around to get a Verizon signal - very convenient in a region with very limited cell phone coverage.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Harald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

What a find! We got a cancellation for Cabin 7 for Labor Day weekend. It was large, had a dining deck over looking the river with a BBQ and dining table. In front of our room was another large patio with great views and comfy chairs, tables and another BBQ. The new owner, Jim is very accommodating. Great selection of free DVDs to watch in the room. Wifi to keep connected. There's a pool table in the office. Sierra City is really pretty with the river below and the Buttes above. Not a lot of restaurants, but both we tried were fine. Near Lakes Basin and many hiking, biking and boating lakes close by. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews