We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School with Some Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

This is an older concrete tower style Holiday Inn with a detached welcome area and a tower with external access. The tower is 5 stories accessible by either stairs or one rather slow elevator. The old school style isn't so bothersome as the need for upgrades in the guest rooms. Ours didn't look like it had had much more than new wallpaper since the 1980s. I get It, the structure is concrete so renovation options are limited, but bust a hole between some of the tiny rooms and create upgraded suits to match the offerings at other area lodging.

The staff was amazing, especially Tacia at the front desk who went out of her way to make check in a pleasant and efficient experience. The housekeeping staff was on point for our room with everything clean and well set up. The facilities and grounds staff did a good job of keeping this aging building in good repair. Access was easy and parking is sufficient. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and matched the corporate offerings.

The facilities are a tale of two buildings. The welcome and reception building has been totally upgraded with Holiday Inns pseudo Ikea package. It was fresh, clean and has a nice contemporary feel. The rooms are small compared to the market and the points used were high for the off season. Like I said, the guest rooms could use a 2018 makeover. The view is also a mixed bag. On one side of the tower, your view is a highway and the roof of the welcome building. On the other side is a small lake, a parking lot and a Chili's. They have a little deck area on the lake next to a small walking trail, but when we visited the walking access to the area was under water. It does have an outside pool and hot tub which are well maintained.

I would recommend looking at reviewer photos as the IHG shots make the place look like a resort on the water. It isn't that, but it is a reasonable oasis in a partly urban area. Included in my photos are some nests on the rafters area. I don't know if these are birds or bees. I am guessing birds ... but it is an odd thing to see so prominently on the building. If they are bird nests some signage to tell us what they are and perhaps some ecosystem facts would be nice. If they are bees ... power wash those things out of here. Overall, a positive experience ... but in need of some renovation investment.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Paul,
We are very sorry to see that our hotel did not met your expectation , we will definitely pass this feedback on to our corporate and see what could be done . Also it is very kind of you to mention our staff and their service in the review, they really work very hard to make sure that they give their 100% to all our guest to make sure that they are satisfied with the service given by them. Also you had mention about bird nest in the review and unfortunately we can only remove them during the season that birds migrate out, but we are aware of this and will take necessary steps. We really appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We checked in for a last minute birthday trip to Monterey and were absolutely blown away by the level of service we’ve received. Ayline and Angelee went above and beyond to make sure that our trip was extra special—they remembered that we’re celebrating a birthday even though we only briefly mentioned it during check in. I’ve travelled quite a bit and even the fanciest hotels don’t offer much if the service is not up to par. This holiday inn express definitely has the best staff (and the facility is clean and convenient as well). Kudos to Ayline and Angelee for really making this place extraordinary :)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Nile B,
Wow really great feedback of our hotel and the staff, and very pleasing to see that Angelee and Ayline was able to make your stay with us special on your Birthday. Our staff really enjoy being their for our guest and giving individual attention to each of our guest. We hope to see you again on your next trip so that we can give you same excellent service that our staff is use to.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for five days. Location is good. Rooms clean, comfy beds. Had a rom facing the highway first which was noisy but than switched towards the pool side. Breakfast was great, very friendly staff always helpful and smiling. In&Out Restaurant right next to it.
Would love to come again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Ruth G,
Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to be at your service, and very glad to see that our staff exceeded your expectation. We look forward to inviting you again.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel is centrally located very near Monterey but without all the traffic of Monterey. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and even called our room to see if everything was O.K. I suggest the top floor for the best views. From the front you see the ocean and from the back you see a small lake with a hiking trail around it. There are plenty of restaurants around with a In-n-Out burger next to it and a Chili's right behind. The breakfast was great. Lots of choices, even bacon and cheese omelettes. There is a huge dining area so seating is not a problem. I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to tour the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have the best views and there is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Monty5861,
We are so very pleased to see that everything about your stay was perfect, and that our location served your purpose. We appreciate such a wonderful feedback of our hotel and kind words. We look forward to inviting you again, so we can thank you for such a great feedback.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

large lobby & breakfast eating area considering how small rooms are. very friendly staff. average continental breakfast. nice pond/small lake behind hotel. was a little noisy at night due to some boisterous truckers in parking lot (were done by 10PM). On property manager was accommodating & recommended excellent sea food restaurant ( Monterey fish house).

Room Tip: we were on top floor, back, facing small lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383gordonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 383gordonv,
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to apologize that our room size was not to your preference and for noise from outside in paring lot, we will pass this on to our security staff so that they can pay more attentive next time around. We do hope you give us another opportunity, so that we can give you better stay on your next trip.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
352 reviews
0.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
0.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
264 reviews
4.1 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay

Address: 1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: €98 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay (Del Monte Beach Area), CA. We are conveniently located off Hwy 1, just 2 blocks from the beach where you can enjoy a leisurely walk along Monterey's gorgeous coastline. We are at the gateway to the area's most popular attractions only 2 miles north of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf, 3 miles north of Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, and minutes from world-class golf at Pebble Beach. Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway is just a short 4 miles from our front door. The quaint seaside town of Carmel-by-the-Sea is a must see, and just 7 miles south via Hwy 1. After a day of exploring the Monterey Peninsula, return to our friendly hotel and relax. We offer 143, 100% non-smoking comfortable newly designed guestrooms and an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. You may also enjoy an invigorating work out in our on-site fitness center. Join us each morning for our Complimentary Express Start HOT Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay Hotel Seaside
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside
Holiday Inn Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing