We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sand Castle Inn(Seaside)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Seaside)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Seaside Inn(Seaside)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$348
US$321
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
83
190
200
74
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
190
200
74
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfifth floorthe breakfast areamonterey areafree breakfastyogurtconvenient locationminute drivebeds were comfortableeasy accessthe room was nicefisherman's wharfroad tripocean viewfreewayaquarium
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We checked in for a last minute birthday trip to Monterey and were absolutely blown away by the level of service we’ve received. Ayline and Angelee went above and beyond to make sure that our trip was extra special—they remembered that we’re celebrating a birthday even though we only briefly mentioned it during check in. I’ve travelled quite a bit and even the fanciest hotels don’t offer much if the service is not up to par. This holiday inn express definitely has the best staff (and the facility is clean and convenient as well). Kudos to Ayline and Angelee for really making this place extraordinary :)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Nile B,
Wow really great feedback of our hotel and the staff, and very pleasing to see that Angelee and Ayline was able to make your stay with us special on your Birthday. Our staff really enjoy being their for our guest and giving individual attention to each of our guest. We hope to see you again on your next trip so that we can give you same excellent service that our staff is use to.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for five days. Location is good. Rooms clean, comfy beds. Had a rom facing the highway first which was noisy but than switched towards the pool side. Breakfast was great, very friendly staff always helpful and smiling. In&Out Restaurant right next to it.
Would love to come again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Ruth G,
Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to be at your service, and very glad to see that our staff exceeded your expectation. We look forward to inviting you again.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel is centrally located very near Monterey but without all the traffic of Monterey. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and even called our room to see if everything was O.K. I suggest the top floor for the best views. From the front you see the ocean and from the back you see a small lake with a hiking trail around it. There are plenty of restaurants around with a In-n-Out burger next to it and a Chili's right behind. The breakfast was great. Lots of choices, even bacon and cheese omelettes. There is a huge dining area so seating is not a problem. I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to tour the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have the best views and there is an elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Monty5861,
We are so very pleased to see that everything about your stay was perfect, and that our location served your purpose. We appreciate such a wonderful feedback of our hotel and kind words. We look forward to inviting you again, so we can thank you for such a great feedback.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

large lobby & breakfast eating area considering how small rooms are. very friendly staff. average continental breakfast. nice pond/small lake behind hotel. was a little noisy at night due to some boisterous truckers in parking lot (were done by 10PM). On property manager was accommodating & recommended excellent sea food restaurant ( Monterey fish house).

Room Tip: we were on top floor, back, facing small lake.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383gordonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 383gordonv,
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to apologize that our room size was not to your preference and for noise from outside in paring lot, we will pass this on to our security staff so that they can pay more attentive next time around. We do hope you give us another opportunity, so that we can give you better stay on your next trip.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We were traveling with 44 high school students and 7 chaperones on a history/literature/science field trip in northern California. I worked with hotel staff to book the rooms in advance and they were very able to meet all of our needs. On check-in all keys for all rooms were ready to go. Rooms were clean and spacious, and we were all grouped in rooms relatively close to each other so as to ease management of students. The hotel provides easy access to many of our destinations, including Monterey, Salinas, and Carmel. Staff were friendly and eager to be of service, and each of our rooms had a small, custom-made welcome gift, which was a nice touch. The only downside of the facility is that all rooms open to the outside, which is not always ideal when managing high schoolers. However, this was not an issue for our group.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Jeff S,
It was our pleasure to have you and your group stay with us and I hope you enjoyed your trip to our beautiful city of Monterey. We are very pleased to see that you and the group enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was there for all your needs and made sure that your check in process was made fast and easy as we know that when you are travelling in group it could get little hard to manage things and keeping that in mind we made sure that everything is ready for the group We hope we see you and group again next year again.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews