We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
88
197
202
74
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
197
202
74
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fifth floor the breakfast area free breakfast short drive rooms are clean yogurt convenient location easy access the room was nice cookies ocean view monterey freeway aquarium wharf
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The hotel is centrally located very near Monterey but without all the traffic of Monterey. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and even called our room to see if everything was O.K. I suggest the top floor for the best views. From the front you see the ocean and from the back you see a small lake with a hiking trail around it. There are plenty of restaurants around with a In-n-Out burger next to it and a Chili's right behind. The breakfast was great. Lots of choices, even bacon and cheese omelettes. There is a huge dining area so seating is not a problem. I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to tour the Monterey area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have the best views and there is an elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Monty5861,
We are so very pleased to see that everything about your stay was perfect, and that our location served your purpose. We appreciate such a wonderful feedback of our hotel and kind words. We look forward to inviting you again, so we can thank you for such a great feedback.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

large lobby & breakfast eating area considering how small rooms are. very friendly staff. average continental breakfast. nice pond/small lake behind hotel. was a little noisy at night due to some boisterous truckers in parking lot (were done by 10PM). On property manager was accommodating & recommended excellent sea food restaurant ( Monterey fish house).

Room Tip: we were on top floor, back, facing small lake.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383gordonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear 383gordonv,
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to apologize that our room size was not to your preference and for noise from outside in paring lot, we will pass this on to our security staff so that they can pay more attentive next time around. We do hope you give us another opportunity, so that we can give you better stay on your next trip.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We were traveling with 44 high school students and 7 chaperones on a history/literature/science field trip in northern California. I worked with hotel staff to book the rooms in advance and they were very able to meet all of our needs. On check-in all keys for all rooms were ready to go. Rooms were clean and spacious, and we were all grouped in rooms relatively close to each other so as to ease management of students. The hotel provides easy access to many of our destinations, including Monterey, Salinas, and Carmel. Staff were friendly and eager to be of service, and each of our rooms had a small, custom-made welcome gift, which was a nice touch. The only downside of the facility is that all rooms open to the outside, which is not always ideal when managing high schoolers. However, this was not an issue for our group.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Jeff S,
It was our pleasure to have you and your group stay with us and I hope you enjoyed your trip to our beautiful city of Monterey. We are very pleased to see that you and the group enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was there for all your needs and made sure that your check in process was made fast and easy as we know that when you are travelling in group it could get little hard to manage things and keeping that in mind we made sure that everything is ready for the group We hope we see you and group again next year again.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Roomy standard rooms. Microwave, refrigerator and HBO for the kids. Lots of attractions nearby, and the hotel is easy to get to. Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn. There's an elevator as well as stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter, and look out over the pool. Nice hot tub.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Thomas B,
We are very pleased to see that our hotel and our staff surpassed your expectation
and that you and family enjoyed our selection of TV channel and our 4 separate choice of HBO and very good to see that our location served your purpose. We will be waiting your return visit.

Thank you,
Dharmesh Tandel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Updated lobby gave high hopes for our room.
Dark , dismal and cramped, in dire need of and update and refurbish
Elevator areas was scruffy and dirty , there were lots of flies circling around and also on the external corridor on floor one
A loud spaspodic beeping sound outside our room was also highly annoying
Stay else where or drive on
I am a spire member with IHG and sadly used points for our 2 night stay or we would have checked out

Room Tip: High floor faving away from the highway
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sockscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharmesh T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Sockscat,
Please accept our apologies for inconvenience that you faced on your recent stay at our hotel and let me assure you that your feedback will be forwarded to appropriate department and we will take care of the issue that we can resolve at our hotel level.
Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Dharmesh Tandel
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews