We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Magic Carpet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magic Carpet Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 5 October 2011

"Forget about room service! feeling hungry ? call dominos" That was the back side of the key to the room we got. Besides that, the lodge was reasonable and the room was clean and comfortable. breakfast included muffins and cereals.
It's very close to Monterey (10 min drive to the sea lions bay) and is substantially cheaper

Room Tip: as far away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikoned b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Shortly after checking into our room, the toilet flooded, flooding the whole bathroom with water and urine. Since no one was at the front desk after 12 am, we called the emergency number that was posted to the office door.
The guy that answered us did not offer a new clean room, but promised the maintenance guy is on his way. After long waiting ours an another similar call, were the maintenance guy was "still on his way".. we gave up and fell a sleep in that smelly room, after trying to clean the bathroom ourselves.
We paid for that room 110$, which was surely not worth the money, neither the unprofessional treatment we received.
The manager promised us a 20$ which we NEVER saw...(not to mention she asked for proofs we had called for help)
So they are also LIARS!!
Do yourself a favor, stay anywhere else but here!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerAvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I was a little nervous about staying here because this place has gotten some pretty terrible reviews, but I couldn't find anything else at this price so I just crossed my fingers and went with it. Like the title says, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel really was. I mean, it isn't a Westin or anything so don't expect that - you get what you pay for. The room was very clean, smelled fine, and the bathroom tile looked like it was new (or it was just that clean). It's a very simple room, nothing fancy, but who wants to spend that much time in their hotel room anyways? The staff seemed really nice, the check-in guy at night a little quirky. The bed was pretty comfortable, and it came with 2 extra pillows in the closet that were big and fluffy. I would definitely stay there again unless I can find something even cheaper (I've got a wedding to pay for!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

i was a little hesitant after reading some reviews on this place but after breaking down on our way to SF from santa barbara and the SUV being repaired would take a full 24 hours i went to the reception desk and was immediately give a queen room for a rate of $50 for the night. we needed somewhere extremely cheap with the repairs to SUV $1500

THe room was spotless, huge and well maintained so i couldnt understand the bad reviews previously posted on all the major sites.

Reception was warm and friendly and extremly attentive, We asked could we store our bags there after check out as we were unsure if the car would be ready, they said no problem, anything they could do to help they would

There was breakfast included in this price which had... cereal, bagels toast fruit oj coffee and a selection of pastries. TASTY

THe pool area was large clean and quiet.

They do seem to have remodeled this place and seem to still be in the process with some rooms

It was extremely quiet and definately worth the money

WE WOULD 100% STAY HERE AGAIN

Room Tip: ask for AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATHBOY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

here to begin.... deplorable negligent shameful disgraceful sham of a business. they have lied for years claiming they are a 'best western' online ....and have not been a member over 6 years! they turned off the water after i checked in, even though i told the woman at the front desk i needed to shower before a conference and was running short on time! the heater didn't work. the hotel was quiet when i arrived, then at night was filled with rowdy people. the woman at the desk claimed no one was on the property at night however, at 2 am i saw her in her pj's trying to unlock herself from her suite above the office. ridiculous and disgusting service, property was dirty, there was a maintenance man there who said he was from another property....just really bad. it's worth the 5 dollars to stay anywhere else! even outside would be better...in the snow....in a canoe....in a shoe!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMILE_IN_KALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 km away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
110 reviews
2.6 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#6 of 13 in Seaside
111 reviews
2.9 km away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#22 of 56 in Monterey
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Carpet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Carpet Lodge

Address: 1875 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: €55 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Carpet Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Carpet Lodge is conveniently located in Seaside, CA minutes from the many attractions Monterey Bay has to offer. We are only a short drive from CSUMB, Carmel, Aquarium, Cannery Row and Pebble Beach. We have an outdoor pool that is seasonally heated during the summer, free in-room wifi and microwave/refrigerators in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Carpet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Carpet Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing