We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for Wings and Wheels!”

Pacific Coast Air Museum
Ranked #18 of 70 things to do in Santa Rosa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aircraft museum featuring aircraft from Korean War through Vietnam through Cold War. Exhibit for the 9/11 "First Responder" F-15 Eagle interceptor. Open Cockpit days, and some climb aboard aircraft open for public viewing. Museum with WW II artifacts and Gift Shop. Featuring special educational opportunities for local schools as well.
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

I was planning to go to this as this listed as a place to go in Santa Rosa, CA. I got lucky. It was the annual Wings and Wheels event!
Classic cars from a Woody to a Austin Healy DB5. Hot rods and more! The collection of jets were from WWII (P51 Mustang, P39, F86s, as well as an F14 and an F15. The planes are still in relative good shape.
The museum can hold its own without the event but it was much better with them!
Try the visual reality plane ride! It was pretty good time for $5.00!
All in all, I enjoyed this place a lot!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank LeoL694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military aircraft"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 2 reviews
"helicopter"
in 10 reviews
"funding"
in 3 reviews
"restored"
in 4 reviews
"exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"mustang"
in 2 reviews
"school"
in 3 reviews
"donation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We went here while on vacation before our wine tasting. It has a surprisingly large selection of planes. There is a F15 that helped with the September 11th response and F5 and F14. Several helicopters - one like the one in mash. The F5 and F 14 were used down in San Diageo at the 'top gun' school. We went on the hot dog Thursday's when the place was hopping with activities and people to ask questions of. My one suggestion would be to offer a guided tour. The people that work there know so much but if we didn't ask questions we would have missed our.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Zlch0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

The museum is a worthwhile place to visit . Their are lots of aircraft on display to see including the first Air Force jet fifghter on scence over NY on September 11 . There is also a wonderful gift shop filled with goodies to buy .

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank AlanP2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Great selection of military planes, helicopters. docents knowledgeable, can see that a plane is not just a plane. the special exhibit on 9-11 response tugged at our hearts

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank gmleven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Great local air museum with lots of things to look at. 95% of what they have is outside so it is weather dependent. With planes dating from the 1950s to 1980s, there are many docents to explain what you're seeing and give you background above what's on the signage. I suspect most, if not all, of these guys flew these aircraft at some point in their career. Makes it much more personal. The aircraft and helos are in various states of repair or disrepair as is the case with most smaller museums. Never enough money to fund such projects. However, they've still done a nice job presenting the mainly US equipment with a Russian transport and British vertical take off fighter jet mixed in.

Nice little gift shop aimed at kids of all sizes. Parking is plentiful though some of it is a gravel and dirt lot. This provides lots of space for RVs or rigs with trailers in their location adjacent to the Santa Rosa airport. Other than a drink vending machine there is no facility for buying food. However, there places to picnic if you bring your own. Not sure if this is allowed but I can't see why not.

It's a great place alone or with the family to spend 1-3 hours, depending on how much you want to chat with the docents. Cool place. Cheers!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Coast Air Museum also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Pacific Coast Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing