We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful escape!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari West
Certificate of Excellence
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I was lucky to be invited by a friend to visit this great place. It was so much fun staying in a tent "out of Africa" instead of in Africa. The attention to detail is great, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The food was very good. It does get quite cold at night and in the early mornings but the beds have electric blankets and there are heaters in the tent. The beds were super comfortable and it was lovely to wake up overlooking a small pond in the middle of nature; it's a beautiful environment and the landscaping is so well done. I generally don't like zoos but the animals are well kept here and have the best possible environment out of the wild. The owners have done an amazing job bringing a taste of Africa to northern California. This is a wonderful place to bring children so they can get a glimpse of what a safari would be like and to see animals and birds in an extremely natural setting. I want to return with my family, especially the grand children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auroraafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    45
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My boyfriend took me for the three hour safari tour and we had a blast. Out guide, Leslie, was AMAZING!!!!! So knowledgable about all the animals.

There aren't lions or elephants but the cheetahs, giraffes and other animals were fun to see.

I highly recommend going here. I can't wait to go back and do one of their speciality tours where you can feed the animals and get a picture with a cheetah ;)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akaverve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed here with my husband and five year old for one night and a morning safari. We enjoyed it more than I can say. It is like having your own zoo to yourself with cabins and a lake. The tents were rustic, very comfortable and spacious. We had # 26. The beds were very comfortable, and I am picky about that sort of thing. it is very chilly in the morning, so don't forget to put on the space heater before you fall asleep. We forgot, and it was chilly!!!
The dinner was what you would expect at a lodge type place- not extraordinary but just very satisfying. Roasting marshmallows was fun by the big fire and I haven't seen so many stars in the sky since I was a kid.
We have been on safari in Africa- Safari West is not like that, because it's not Africa, but they really do make it as close to the real thing as they can, in California. We wanted our five year old to have a safari experience and you can not take a 5 yr. old on an African safari!
There is nothing like watching your child really enjoying themselves and I had such a wonderful time just seeing her happiness. The giraffes were checking out my sneakers and I could have pet one if we were allowed! We will definitely be back!
One small complaint... wish the breakfast were a little more interesting and that it had come out all at once... we didn't realize there was fruit and oatmeal because it came out so much later than the cereal and yogurt.
All in all it was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My family of four stayed one night in a base camp tent. We were just across from the giraffe compound. We all LOVED it! And would go back in a minute (if the drive wasn't so long for us). It is expensive - especially if you factor in the safari fees and BBQ dinner - but my husband and I agreed it was worth it for the special experience.
I might be considered hard to please, but I felt the service right from the start was exceptional. With our jeep ride from car door to tent door we got a tour of the compound, ice, and bottled water. The no locks on the doors is a bit strange, but we decided to go with it - I might have felt differently if I was traveling without my husband. We did keep our cameras with us. The tents were a lot of fun and so well thought out. The bathroom was pretty cool, although the toilet area got a little dark for our kids at night. We had a cat and a lizard that kept us company on the porch through much of our stay.
The BBQ dinner was good, not too many easy choices for young kids. But my 4-year old loved running back and forth between the table and the monkeys (we were at the end closest to the monkeys - so no, my son was not bothering anyone). There was kind of a rush once the marshmallows came out. Our kids got their share, but I was disappointed we were one of the only families that made out kids share a roaster so that every family could have at least one. I would have been upset if we had been one of the families that had to wait. Some of the families 'in the know' brought stuff for s'mores.
We were told some of the animals would be loud at night and they were. It made us laugh, and we were way too tired from our drive up for it to bother us, but I could see how it could bother some. It was worth it with the kids to be able to have a front view to the giraffes from our porch.
I was surprised how cold it got in the night. We had electric blankets in the room and a heater (which we didn't use), but I would definitely recommend warm p.j.s. In the morning I debated getting up early to watch the sun emerge over the compound vs. staying in the warm bed. The bed won.
The breakfast was hardier than expected and there seemed to be plenty of everything. The kids were happy with it.
We did the safari last. We did the walking part first. It seemed a little long. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, I guess I just didn't want to know that much. It was a lot better once we got in the trucks. I was impressed by the amount of animals. We were lucky that all the animals were out - I guess the day before didn't see any zebras, but we saw many.
We just loved the whole experience. No complaints from any of us.

Room Tip: If we were to return I'd request Tent 14. Across from the giraffes, with the bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAKDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, DE
Level Contributor
333 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We first went to Safari West in 2005. Liked it so much, came back with friends -- took a while for us to get back, but we did. Safari West has expanded a bit since we were last there. More tents. Not too many tents. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the animals. Because we booked late, we stayed in the only "house" while our friends stayed in a tent (we wanted them to experience what we did in 2005). They liked it, but did have a few complaints -- no heater in tent, when asked for one they were brought a broken one. Asked for another one, but there were no more working ones. Continental breakfast is no longer delivered to the tents, so eating on your deck while watching the animals is not an option (unless you have your own food of course). Sort of takes away from the whole outdoor/safari feel. Food was fbuffet style. Not nearly as good as last time we were there. Very average. The tour was not as good either. May have been because they did have some recent rains and were reluctant to take some of the roads into the hills -- they are steep. So, the number of animals we saw "in the wild/open space" area was very limited. The area of caged animals had expanded since our last visit -- lots of monkeys. For the price, we were quite disappointed. Seemed much more commercialized this time. I'm not sure we will be returning, or highly recommending this place anymore. Sorry to say....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravels033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa
8.9 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
9.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
18.0 km away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
9.7 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
37.0 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari West

Property: Safari West
Address: 3115 Porter Creek Rd, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-9655
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari West 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Africa by way of Sonoma County…Come discover the Sonoma Serengeti.The classic African safari is a trip of a lifetime for intrepid travelers from around the globe - and, it is closer than you think!. Families who are curious and wild at heart can get close to nature...very close! Marvel under the gaze of a graceful giraffe or explore the Sonoma Serengeti alongside romping rhinos. Our guests enjoy enlightening African wildlife safari drives, and “glamping” tent cabin accommodations. The sounds of Africa will echo in your dreams. Stay one night in a luxury safari tent located on Giraffe Alley, meet some giraffes and go on Safari! Is Safari West Family Friendly?The entire Safari West experience is a kid-friendly adventure for families to enjoy together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Safari West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari West Hotel Santa Rosa
Safari West Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing