We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding”
Review of Sea Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Blue Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Dirty, old, parking $38 in the small parking lot at hotel front. Walls like paper. Pounding feet up from 2AM to 7AM. Cleaners screaming at top of lungs starting from 7AM , no respect for guests. Homeless sleeping a few steps away. Restaurant next door gave us food poising. All for $350 per night, A total waste of time and money. NEVER AGAIN! Stay away.

Room Tip: Just dont do it any room is awful but if you must get a room up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Teresa D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We know your time is very valuable.

You are very important to us and I am truly sorry for your experience. I can assure you that I am addressing the housekeeping concerns.

Please advise me if I can be of further assistance.

Mari Estrada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Not really impressed with the California Hotel if you consider the room rate. But I guess that comes with the location. Which is awesome if you want to Check out the Pier and Muscle Beach which you arrive to in a 2 minutes walk.
If there’s space in the tiny parking lot in front of the Hotel you can park there which is really convenient.
To the Room:
We liked that it was on the second floor, bath was tiny but fine. The guy at the reception friendly.
We didn't like the bedsheets ...knot sure how fresh they where. Spots and hair on it. The safe was broken. And again, value versus what we got, really really dissapointing. Can't imagine how to give an excellent rating here. But then it's always subject to taste I guess.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick-Hotwaterbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, General Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Mick-Hotwaterbottle,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We strive to always be the best value on the beach in Santa Monica. Although the area's prices are some of the highest in the country, we at The Hotel California work diligently to keep our room rates as some of the lowest on the beach. We are working on acquiring all new sheets, blankets, and all sorts of comfy things for our amazing guests. I feel confident that the next time you visit us you will be pleasantly surprised!

All the Best,

James Broome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My brother and I stayed at The Hotel California Aug 1st and the 2nd. The Alcove Suite we stayed in was spacious, comfortable, and designed perfectly as we are big movie fans. Would like to say a big thank you to James Broome (General Manager) who retrieved my Samsung IPad I forgot in one of the drawers. I was already on my way home and he made sure to take care of it personally. I later find out that he didnt even charge our account and sent it out of his own pocket. I must say the display of customer care he showed really impressed me and Im telling everyone I know to stay at this Hotel If in Santa Monica. The whole staff at the Hotel was very friendly and took care of all the needs we needed. The Hotel is located in a great location close to many restaurants and the pier. I will always stay at this hotel when I am in the area. Once again Thank You to James Broome and the entire staff.

Room Tip: great staff, great location, great hotel, customer friendly, suites are large and spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalioramos50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, General Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Eric,

I can't thank you enough for this incredible review! I can truly say that without the staff of this hotel my job would be impossible. I am sharing your review with our entire staff. This type of recognition really helps everyone, including myself, push forward and strive to be the best that we can be at our jobs.

You and your family will always have a place here at The Hotel California. Do not hesitate to alert us when you start making plans to come back. We'll be sure to secure you a nice upgrade, along with one of our "awesome guest" discounts!

Thanks again Eric,

James Broome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Just a short walk to the famous Santa Monica beach and pier, the Hotel California exudes the California vibe of beach, surf, and rock and roll. Our room had old rock posters, a surfboard and a guitar hanging on the bedroom wall. Hand-painted decorated ceiling areas accented the skylight and ceiling fan. The AC kept us cool. The small 1950/1960 bathroom could use some updating. We used the refrigerator to store wine and water. Unfortunately there weren't wine glasses, a corkscrew, or a coffee maker. At $375/night I think there should have been a few more amenities, though the toiletries in the bathroom were nice. Alexis at the front desk was great. She gave us handy parking tips for our rental car and stored our luggage on our last day so we could suck up a few more hours of sun and water. Summary - terrific location, nice people, tons of personality and charm.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Vandy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! I have shared your review with Alexis. It is our priority to make sure your stay is the best! We have noted your suggestions for possible future enhancements.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The rooms were dates and not very decent, but make do. The location was amazing if you want to live in Santa Monica near the beach, and the staff are incredibly helpful even after you've left. I had an issue with my payment/card and I called them from India and within half an hour my issue was resolved. What more, free tshirts when you stay there. Free Bananas and Coffee too.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
635 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,970 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
721 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Blue Hotel

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212 (Formerly The Hotel California)
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: €166 - €322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic, Oceanfront Santa Monica Hotel (formerly Hotel California) Unwind at this laid-back, oceanfront hideaway along the Pacific. Bask in the sun and carefree lifestyle of Southern California and stay a while at the Sea Blue Hotel. With a prime beachfront address, our tranquil, seaside refuge welcomes you to the heart of Santa Monica. Relax in our private courtyard with beach access, so you can dip your toes in the sand any time. Stay within walking distance of the Santa Monica Pier and the iconic Pacific Park Ferris wheel, and close to the local shops and galleries that line the Third Street Promenade. Just minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, and Malibu, our modern, surf-inspired accommodations with free Wi-Fi will leave you rested and relaxed, so you can head out to catch some waves and explore the best parts of coastal Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing