We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$302
PricelineUS$302
Hotels.comUS$302
Agoda.comUS$302
eDreamsUS$302
Trip.comUS$320
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
121
224
105
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
224
105
37
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Our family of 5 (children aged 10, 8 & 6) stayed here for 3 nights from Wednesday 20th Feb 2019.

We were spending a week in LA and had spent 4 nights in downtown before coming over to Santa Monica for the last 3 days.

I booked this hotel based on its location (one block from the beach) and the fact that it was the cheapest option available by far . After booking the hotel, I did read a few negative reviews so I checked in with some trepidation.

I shouldn’t have worried as the hotel was GREAT!

Our 1 bedroom suite was huge and most importantly VERY clean! The kitchen was not only well stocked with plates, pots and pans etc, but we were also given tea and coffee making facilities.

Our children stayed in the bedroom (which had 2 double beds) and my wife and I stayed on the sofa bed in the lounge. The sofa bed was comfortable and easy to pull out and put away each day.

The room is dated and worn in places but I wouldn’t expect anything else from a place so cheap and close to the beach. The important thing is that the room is clean and it was spotless. Also, it was very very quiet! We didn’t hear any noises at night - we barely saw any other guests to be honest!

This hotel also has the benefit of a heated pool which our children loved despite it being only 12-14 degrees outside whilst we were there! Complimentary towels were plentiful by the pool.

We came across 3 different people on the small reception desk and all three were lovely, professional and very helpful. We enquired about parking and whilst it is quite expensive, for ease we chose to park at the hotel which was simple and straight forward!

If we ever go back to Santa Monica Beach, we will certainly stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JimThom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2019

Thank you for the amazing review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that while you were here with us.

All of our suites are fully equipped with a separate kitchen, living area, bedroom, and bathroom. Our pool is heated and (82 degrees Fahrenheit/ 27.7 degrees Celsius) open for guests to use from 9 am to 9 pm.

Our parking pricing is comparable to similar properties in our area and we feel that we provide good value given our in and out privileges, central location, and facilities. Street parking is available but limited. You may want to look on 4th street as well as Ocean Ave for street parking. There is also a public parking structure located a two minute walk from the hotel.

We appreciate the feedback about our facilities and will use your comments to further improve our guest experience. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

THIS HOTEL WAS AWESOME. Saw a lot of mixed reviews and was nervous about seeing what it was like in real life, but it could not have been better. The staff were super friendly and accommodating to all/any of our requests. Both the bed and pullout mattresses were comfortable. Even though the decor may have been a little “dated” it was all suitable. I’ve stayed at a couple different hotels in the area and this one has by far been my favorite. Perhaps the hotel has received some upgrades since the lower reviews, myself and friends were there January 2019 and LOVED it.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank MyaH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2019

Thank you for the review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that while you were here with us. All of our suites are fully equipped with a separate kitchen, living area, bedroom. We appreciate the feedback about our décor and will seek out solutions. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018

This hotel looks like it came straight out of the 1950s! The period features are charming and the suites feel like small apartments. So comfortable and open. A full kitchen is at your disposal and it's nice to have tvs in both the bedroom and living room. I will say this place needs new beds, as they're too soft. And the bathroom could do with a reno, hopefully not at the expense of the period charm. Location is not bad. Pool is lovely. Staff is very friendly.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacia_neale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2019

Thank you for the review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that while you were here with us. All of our suites are fully equipped with a separate kitchen, living area, and bedroom. Our pool is heated at 82 degrees Fahrenheit and open from 9am to 9pm for guests to use. We are conveniently located one block away from the 3rd street promenade for anyone interested in shopping and a seven minute walk to the Santa Monica Pier. We appreciate the feedback about our décor and will seek out solutions. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

Could not be a better location, 2 blocks from cliffs in Santa Monica and 1 block from the 3rd St. Promenade, it's just older and a little rundown. New carpets and paints would do wonders, but the price is good for the area. $35 parking and $15 internet were bad though. Walls are super thin.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirate828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thank you for the review. We are in a prime location for shopping at 3rd street promenade..We appreciate the feedback about our decor and are seeking out solutions. Hopefully we could make a better impression on you during your next stay. We definitely would like to turn that 3 star rating into a 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location close to shopping, beach and pier but is poorly maintained. Ratty old furniture, double beds not queen, minimal bedding, cracked tiles in bathroom. Spacious so if you have a large group willing to sleep on floor and want something affordable this would work. Also has small kitchen.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thank you for the review and for your feedback. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff always strives to make our guest's stay as pleasurable as possible. We will definitely take your comments and use them to improve. Once again, we apologize and hope to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews