We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
112
217
101
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
217
101
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen living room heated pool street promenade pink tile gas stove melrose place apartment complex garbage trucks two blocks large bedroom per day laundry facilities wi fi an older hotel location is fantastic great pool
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location close to shopping, beach and pier but is poorly maintained. Ratty old furniture, double beds not queen, minimal bedding, cracked tiles in bathroom. Spacious so if you have a large group willing to sleep on floor and want something affordable this would work. Also has small kitchen.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MidwifeABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We had just traveled all over the west coast and I had booked this hotel as the location and room accomodation looked great.

There was 3 of us and it was perfect having 3 bed double beds. Loved hacing our kitchen space, to store food and drinks.

Hotel staff where lovely and friendly, looked after us and held onto our bags for a short while after we checked out.

The location is amazing, just turn left and left again and your in the main square with all the shops, or left and straight and you're at the beach.

If I came to LA again, I would most likely stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JordanA1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A great welcome and helpful staff with a very spacious apartment well serviced daily
The suite was well located near at many local amenities, restaurants, shops, seafront and local transport.
Loads of local information was available.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Cal Mar hotel is located in a very convenient area; close to the beach/Pier and high street shops. The apartment was very clean with a comfortable bed and good TV. However, the kitchen and bathroom were very ancient and looked like they were fitted in the 60s. ..but maybe this is part of Cal Mar’s charm. Refrigerator did not work and gas stove looked unusable.
The pool area was pleasant, clean and peaceful. The staff friendly.
After much research Cal Mar was the most affordable accommodation in the whole of the Santa Monica Pier area ..and definitely worth it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Han-solo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

They do not bother to tell you that there is no parking there unless you're willing to pay them 32 bucks tonight. They will say there is street parking but that's a lie every spot within the vicinity requires a permit to park on the street with crazy restrictions in hours that you can park there. With all the money they're charging to stay there they should definitely think about replacing the carpets they're disgusting. And the fact that I can stay at a Motel 6 and get free Wi-Fi but yet I stay at this place that charges me hundreds of dollars a night and I have to pay them additional money for Wi-Fi is a joke

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews