We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveller rating
371
648
264
62
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
648
264
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking ihop downstairs blue bus short drive shuttle service clean hotel beds were very comfortable closer to the beach coffee maker convenient location street promenade continental breakfast venice beach los angeles few blocks bw surgery
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel located some way from the pier but just a$6 Uber ride away.The front desk staff of Gloria,Rose and Anna are so helpful you can't go wrong.Rooms are very nice with air con,big beds and great bathrooms an IHOP restaurant next door is great for a cheap breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhilJ130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide their feedback and we are so glad that your stay with us was enjoyable! Thanks for recognizing our friendly and helpful team; we will pass on your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good, friendly and helpful staff, free parking. Was a little far out from Santa Monica, but this can be good if you want to see different areas of LA. Very clean and nice big room. IHOP next door good for convenient food

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scenic150499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide their feedback and we are so glad that your stay with us was enjoyable! Thanks for recognizing our friendly and helpful team; we will pass on your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We had a 2 night stay in Santa Monica, as a base for visiting Universal Studios. The hotel was clean but after using the bathroom you have to come back into the main room to use the sink for washing your hands. It's about a 30 minute walk to downtown Santa Monica and where the hotel is based, there isn't a great deal of choice for places to eat although we did get a good recommendation to eat at an Italian called Earth Wind & Flour (about a 10 minute walk away). Otherwise, it's next door to I-Hops. Metro station is about a 10 mminute walk away and with a change of trains in downtown LA, you can reach Hollywood in around an hour - quicker than using the car and less stressful!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank declanriddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate you recognizing our convenient location to the Metro as an easy and affordable transportation option to Hollywood and Universal Studios! Our entire staff enjoyed providing you with friendly service and warm hospitality. Please visit us again next time your travels bring you to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We booked this hotel, because of the price, and it didn't disappoint. It is about a 30 minute walk to the Santa Monica Pier, but a nice walk.
The room was overlooking the street, and was a bit noisy at night, even though the windows were triple paned.
The rooms have no carpeting, so noise is a bit of an issue, but nothing too bad.
The only restaurant nearby, is the IHOP connected to the hotel. We were given a 10% voucher for either lunch or dinner, but we never used it as we were always at the Pier.
It is a good hotel for the price.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Santa Monica is a great walkable city and we appreciate knowing that our location was a terrific choice for your travel plans and activities! Thank you for being our guest and recognizing our service value. We look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We were searching for a hotel to stay at because we decided to make a trip to Santa Monica and Best Western was one of the only hotels with availability. We enjoyed our stay and the rooms were very nice and the beds very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide their feedback and it is fantastic that your stay with us was enjoyable! Many of our guests have mentioned the comfort of our pillow top mattresses for a home away from home experience. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Santa Monica, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews