We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and clean for Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable and clean for Santa Monica”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Of course I wanted to stay right on the beach, but once I saw rates of $350+ for being anywhere close to the ocean I expanded my search and found the Best Western. I think for Los Angeles as a whole, this is a very good value. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff were friendly. We did not have to walk far to get to our rental car which was nice. We did walk to the beach one day from here and it took about 45 minutes with traffic lights. Walking through Santa Monica is nice though especially the 3rd street promenade area. There are restaurants around the hotel within walking distance. If you have a car the Best Western is a good compromise to being right on the beach. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    568
    240
    57
    17
See reviews for
365
433
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel and enjoyed our stay.

The reception staff was very friendly and helpful with all our questions. The parking was free and we could even park before check-in and after check-out.

The room was very nice, quite large and clean and they also accommodated our wish to stay at the top floor. We could also do a late check out as our plane wasn't leaving until later that day.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the beach/pier but the hotel offers a convenient shuttle service to the pier area which was great.
They also have an IHOP restaurant attached to their hotel and the staff in the restaurant was extremely friendly.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kardo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days while I was visiting Los Angeles. I chose it randomly, here's my opinion:

1-Location
The hotel is located in Santa Monica, around 20 blocks from Ovean drive and 12 blocks from the shopping district. It is in a very peaceful location, relatively safe and very neat. You can walk the surrounding streets and enjoy the marvelous Santa Monica sunshine. It is not very close to the main points of attraction, but if you put in a 10 min walk you surely get where've you want. The hotel is also located at the corner of Santa Monica blvd. and 20th, which a very busy bus and taxi crossing.

2-Rooms
As with any other Best Western, the rooms are not fancy. They are of very average quality with very mediocre furnishings. Some of the equipment is old and takes you time to know how to manipulate it. The room colors are a little grim and lightning is fade. It is still a nice placebo be staying in for a by short period as rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are also quite large.

3- The hotel
It emails a very average hotel. You won't notice it in th middle of the street unless the Best Western sign is visible. I know that the chin is not intended to be luxurious and all, but still I have been a guest in other chains of similar status where you feel you are in a 5 star. The entrance, while very neat, is very similar to one of a residential building.

4- Amenities
There are not much outlets to enjoy, do make sure younger your lunch and drinks somewhere else. There are plenty of great pace in te vicinity of the hotel. The good thing about it s that they offer the Internet and parking for free.

5- Employees
I just love Best Wesern employees, they are very amicable and extremely helpful. They do their job to utmost erection and they are all around you should you need anything. I gave them 7 star on the service and guest attention. Whether the doorman, valet, receptionist....they are all worthy of great appreciation. That is my third Best western and I think I have noticed this in all my stays.

All in all I recommend this hotel of you are staying on a budget and would like to spend your money on seeing Santa Monica rather than spending it on accommodation. The hotel charged us 144 USD/night which is pretty decent. I got to spend the rest on the wonderful entertainment events all over Ocean Drive, shopping and just wandering in a great city. If you are more of a luxury freak and would like something more high end, I definitely recommend the Fairmont hotel down by acorn Drive or just stay closer to Hollywoodband Sunset at the Sofitel or SLS.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SagaLEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have stayed here many times for business, and it has met all of my needs just fine, i.e. clean bathrooms and comfortable beds. But the poor choices made by the owners really let the otherwise decent hotel down. The towels are beige instead of white, so they look dirty even though they are perfectly clean. The bed linens are the same, and feel just as old as the hotel, although the bed itself is more comfortable than it needs to be for this class of hotel. Wifi is free and mostly functional, but slow. And the lightbulbs give off light that is so cold I always want as few lights on as possible. These are all really simple cosmetic changes the management can do to really spruce this place up.

To be fair, in the past two years, I have noticed some improvement, in the furniture and general non-mustiness of the place. But I certainly won't be missing this place.

The location is not that great. There is not much around, but a big plus is free parking.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have less light, but no street noise, which can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Excellent hotel slept on the best bed ever, excellent staff, great location, free shuttle to downtown Santa Monica highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
601 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,814 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing