We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
354
294
79
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
294
79
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location front desk the santa monica pier private balcony valet parking restaurants and bars awesome hotel few minutes walk street promenade boutique hotel room was clean and comfortable early check cleaning staff great shopping top floor would definitely stay here again valet service
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bar soap was not replaced, mildew in the shower, 1 towel bar (they need more or at least a few hooks unless they want wet towels on the floor) When I booked a Courtyard view with a seating area it was upsetting to find a parking lot view with a small desk and one chair (seating area) Very misleading advertising.

Room Tip: ask for oceanview or you will have a parking lot view. a seating area should not be a desk and a chair.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald D, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry that your stay with us was such a disappointment. We sincerely apologize for not meeting cleanliness expectations and not providing the experience that you expected when you booked with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Really enjoyed the hotel and staff, we had a room in the back with a balcony and a view of the parking area. Not a great view but a nice breeze and fresh air. We were able to get moved to a front room facing the ocean for a night which was really special. There are lots of restaurants and things to do in a short walk, this is right in the center of a great area to stay with great views. Also, much more family friendly in Santa Monica vs. Venice Beach...although take a walk down for the scenery. Not a cheap hotel, but nothing in the area is...it is a fair value for an expensive area.

Sonny helped us with questions at the desk and was very helpful, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Request a front room with a front view when booking
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oscar19845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald D, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the ocean views for a night while you were with us. We hope to have you again should your travels bring you back to Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Hotel was in a great location on the front road just two minutes away from Santa Monica pier. The room was spacious , two queen size beds, and great bathroom and walk in shower. The beds were comfy and good quality sheet, all in all the room was perfect. went to the beach one day and got beach towels from reception. the car park was pretty expensive at $37.50 a night but dont let that put you off as there are car parks nearby for $14 for 24 hours (eg leave monday night pick up tuesday ) which we used regurlarly. All in all a great hotel in a fantastic location in a beatiful area

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald D, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are happy to hear that you had a good time in Santa Monica and that we were able to provide a great place for you to stay during your time here. We sincerely hope that we get the chance to see you again on your next trip out to southern California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Amazing hotel, located right across the road from the Pier and the fabulous beach.
We paid the upgrade to have the sea view room...would advise anyone to spend the extra pennies to do this, glorious views of the ocean, sunsets etc etc etc
Staff were wonderful, so helpful and always with smiles.
Cannot wait to be able to spend another holiday with them.

Room Tip: didn't see the other rooms but we had a sea view …..WOW!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOMICKSAMKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald D, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy that you had such a fantastic holiday with us and cannot wait to have you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Ocean View Hotel at the start of our holiday.

It did not start well. We were arriving on an early flight into LA so had emailed the hotel twice in the preceding week to let them know this and ask how to arrange an early checkin. We had no response to this and when we arrived no room was available. They told us we could leave our bags and come back in a few hours.

When we returned the room was ready - top floor at the front with a great view of the sea and the pier. The room was comfortable, if a little tired. It was clean and ticked all the basic requirements. We did not use the air conditioning as the sea breeze kept the room comfortable.

The hotel has the Earth Bay attached but no restaurant or bar. However there are so many choices nearby that this is not an issue. We found the staff all very friendly, and iced water, cookies etc at reception are a nice detail.

One complaint - if you are going to use the bikes, beach towels etc they can provide, the resort fee may be reasonable but as we didn’t all we got for the fee was basic internet access - which should be included anywhere these days. However the overall price was still reasonable (particularly compared with some of the over priced options nearby).

Overall a good location with pleasant staff and an excellent view, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald D, Front Office Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always strive to give all of our guests a five star experience when they choose to stay with us. I want to apologize for the areas that we fell short in with our lack of communication, not being prepared for your arrival, and not informing you of the amenities that we have available here for our guests. We will take this feedback as a way to train and improve and should your travels take you back to Santa Monica we hope that you would find a great improvement from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews