We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We sat outside and enjoyed sushi and great people watching”
Review of Sushi Roku

Sushi Roku
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Roku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 777 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Santa Monica Blvd. and Ocean Ave.
Reviewed 14 October 2018

It doesn't matter what you order, it's delicious. Try and sit outside and watch the world go by on Ocean Avenue.

Thank Neen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreyo575, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Roku, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking a moment to share your wonderful suggestions here on TripAdvisor, Neen. We're so grateful for your kind words and five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely bento box for lunch, service was good but the whole experience was overshadowed by the fact the tip percentages are way out on the bill and it seemed to be quite the trap for non-maths savvy customers. Fortunately I am reasonably maths savvy and saw straight away that the percentages were not accurate.

1  Thank girlreg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffreyo575, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Roku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your lunch and the good service you received. In regard to the tip calculation, since your check was split, the system was showing the percentage of the total bill for your table, not just the dishes you ordered. At this time, our system cannot calculate tip for the split amount. We appreciate you visiting and sharing your feedback, and sincerely hope you'll be back for another delicious lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Came here for recommended sushi and sake, but service left a bad taste our mouths.

Waiter was not attentive at all. We ordered appetizers and sushi as our meal. 2 others with us ordered steak and after appetizers, sushi came out 30 minutes before the other 2 meals. Waiter should have known how to stagger to ensure we could eat our meal together. Waiter never came back with our sake order either. Wouldn’t go back. Overrated and underwhelmed.

Thank 551sherriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey o, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Roku, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Sherri, experience is everything to us here at Sushi Roku, so we're sorry you were disappointed in your visit. An a la cart system is used to order dishes here, as the food comes from three different kitchens, so dishes are served as soon as they're prepared for ultimate freshness. However, we still want our guests to receive attentive, informative service, and we use feedback as a training opportunity, so thank you for taking a moment to share your comments with us. We sincerely hope you'll consider visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

It’s one of my favorite Sushi places in LA. High quality food, and service. Try their baked lobster rolls, it’s one of their signature rolls, and one of my favorites.

Thank aalmarzooq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey o, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Roku, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

It's an honor to be one of your favorite sushi places! Our team can't wait to offer more high quality food and service the next time you stop in for some of your favorite dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped by this restaurant to order sushi to go. Either the waitress at the entrance was very careless and ignorant or both the chef and waitress had no idea what sushi is and sushimi is. They gave me sushimi but the waitress insisted that it was sushi ! I have travelled all around the world including Japan and I believe I have enough knowledge to understand the difference between sushi and sushimi. Anyways they charged about $43 for only 10 pieces of sushi to go, highly overpriced. The waitress was terrible and had no experience about being polite to customers. Either she wasn’t about her job or she had personal problems. I purchased that order on July 23rd around 10pm. So I recommend the restaurant manager to check the records to improve their customer service satisfaction

Thank TC-BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey o, Guest Relations Manager at Sushi Roku, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

We're very sorry to read of your experience, as guest satisfaction is a top priority here, and we always aim to provide polite, caring, and knowledgeable service. We appreciate you sharing this information with us, as feedback helps us to improve, and we will be sure to use this as a re-training opportunity for this employee. Our team would love to get more information and ensure that this is addressed right away, so please send an email to info@innovativedining.com including your contact information. Thank you, and if you're ever in the area again, we'd love to welcome you back for a five-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Roku also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Sushi Roku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing