We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where is there 3rd michilin Star, WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melisse

Melisse
Reserve with OpenTable
Melisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 676 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: 11th Street and Wilshire Blvd.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“where is there 3rd michilin Star, WOW”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ok, this wasn't in our business budget so it was out of pocket. Well worth it. We tried the tasting menu and I couldn't believe how prompt the service was and how smooth everything went, especially since we had 12 courses. Each one unique and presented with such elegance. This is the type of experience you never forget. It will go down in history for one of the best meals if not the best meal I have ever had. I am originally from Santa Barbara and now live in Wasilla Alaska. One thing I miss about California is all the excellent restaurants to chose from. This one is a must. It is spendy but well worth it. For foodies, this is heaven on earth. Probably the best restaurant in LA in my opinion. Such passion goes into their food and it is seen in the quality and presentation of their dishes. Cheer Melisse. That third Michelin star should be knocking on your door. I am so happy for tripadvisor. It really gives people the information they need to make their dining destinations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radstuert404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    49
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still great second time around”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Last visit, we dabbled with their 4 course menu and vowed a return trip to try their more extensive tasting menus. This time, we stepped up to the 10 course menu. They did have a special 7 coursefoie gras tasting menu as well but that seemed a bit too much. We had such a great time during our last visit from the food to the service (and the coffee!), that we were worried that this trip wouldn't be as good. Well it was. We did indulge and opt for the $60 supplemental truffle pasta course. What a treat it was to see a box of truffles opened, one selected, then shaved directly onto the pasta. They were pretty generous with the truffle perhaps since it was my wife's birthday. Meal took 4 hours. There was a bit of a delay at one point so our waiter poured a little sauternes for our trouble w/o prompt. Chef Citrin visited the dining room twice to pay a visit to the diners. Needless to say, we'll be back, perhaps to tackle the carte blanche 15 course meal...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyclopseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deserving of its reputation”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had high expectations and they were met and exceeded. It cost a pretty penny to dine here, but it's unlike any other dining experience we have ever had. The staff was welcoming and not snooty whatsoever. Amazing!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seattle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food & amazing presentation along with great service.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had the chefs tasting menu and it was amazing! The presentation of each dish was impeccable and fabulous. You are given total privacy and time to enjoy each dish personally. You never feel rushed or hurried by anyone. Once you enter the front door of the restaurant, you find yourself in a different and special environment that is supposed to cater to your every need. I highly recommend going there at least once in your life.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“The best food The rudest sommelier”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was a most lovely Christmas Eve dinner. The food was outstanding. The restaurant deserves its two Michelin stars. 
On  the other hand the sommelier deserves a black mark for his rude manner. We were  unaware that we were standing in the wrong spot in the dining room since the hostess had placed us there.  We were shocked when the sommelier reprimanded us in an insulting and demeaning manner, telling us we were disturbing the people nearby. We couldn't believe we were being spoken like this  by a restaurant employee  We were there to celebrate my husband's 73rd birthday!  Later in the evening he tried to apologize, but his bizarre behavior put a damper on what would have been a perfect dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saumur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melisse also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Melisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing