We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,276)
Filter reviews
3,276 results
Traveller rating
2,015
816
271
96
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,015
816
271
96
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privacy screen glass wall blue taco the santa monica pier great location garden view modern hotel street promenade partial ocean view pool and hot tub glass of champagne ocean front valet parking people watching late check randall ivy
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 3,276 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We enjoyed 3 great nights at Shore Hotel.

The hotel is elegant and hip. Our room was in great condition and perfectly clean. Rooms are not huge but there was enough space for our family of 4. The glass shower stall allows natural light into the bathroom and a screen can be lowered if you'd prefer privacy. Room included a coffee maker, ironing equipment, a safe and robes.

You simply can't beat this location. The Santa Monica pier is across the road (we could see it from our room), to one side is The Ivy restaurant (we got same-day reservations) and on the other side is Blue Taco. Many, many other great dining options within easy walking distance. Also nearby is Venice and Muscle beaches, great places to people watch and take in weird and wonderful California. Great shopping is also right behind the hotel at Santa Monica Place.

We were delighted from the moment we were welcomed into the hotel by Brittany at the front desk. She took the time to ask us about our interests and plans and gave many helpful suggestions. She checked-in with us whenever we saw her in the lobby to make sure everything was going well. Concierge Mika was also very helpful in creating a wonderful itinerary for our 3 days in the city. These two ladies were very friendly and warm and added so much to our stay at the hotel.

We also were happy to see the many green initiatives underway at the hotel.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonda_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom R, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear rhonda_toronto,

Thank you for choosing the Shore Hotel on your recent visit to Santa Monica.

And thank you for the detailed review of the hotel and mentioning Brittany and Mika. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Tom R.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The hotel staff and valet service are exceptional. We were always responded to very quickly. The decor of the lobby is really pretty. The rooms are also pretty and very comfortable. The proximity to everything such as The Pier, The beach and tons of restaurants and shops is unbeatable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom R, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Shelly W,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to let us know how everything went.

Wonderful to hear all was well.

Sincerely,

Tom R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My GF and I took a weekend trip to So Cal and chose the Shore Hotel because of location and affordability. We arrived late (around midnight) and check-in was very easy. On one of our days we decided to hang around Santa Monica all day. The hotel's location is perfect. Just a few blocks from both the promenade and the beach, there's no way we could have been in a better spot. The pool was clean and not too cold. The food at the restaurant was good (we only had breakfast). Overall this is an excellent spot if you want to take a weekend trip to So Cal near the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Eric H,

Thank you for staying with us and we were glad to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed your visit. We appreciate the kind review and hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Aaron Peaslee
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Front desk experience was worst ever. Spoiled whole experience. Last time I was in Santa Monica, I stayed at the Shangi La. Much more class outfit and just down the road. Will never use a Shore Hotel again.

Shore Hotel walls very thin. Could hear next room music whole time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank LozzaMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear LozzaMason,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me at the desk yesterday. I apologize for the wait in line to check in and that we did not do more to make you feel welcome. My offer stands to look after your next visit if you would like to give us another chance. You have my contact information. Most guests enjoy our service and I am sorry that we feel short of your expectations on your visit.

Kind Regards,

Aaron Peaslee
Director of Guest Services

Green Fact of the Day: The Shore Hotel automatically turns off the air conditioner when the sliding glass door is opened to save energy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I stayed at The Shore Hotel for three nights in March 2018. I was very impressed and happy with this hotel. When we arrived at the hotel for the first time, we were greeted very kindly by the front desk. They were so sweet and super helpful.

The room was small, but very cozy and modern. The hotel is very eco friendly, which was what I think the hotel's decor was based off of.

Also, I'd like to say that Brittany who worked at the front desk was absolutely amazing. She was such an amazing worker, and so friendly. That was definitely one of the best customer service experiences I've had.

Room Tip: Great views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Guest Relations Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Mark G,

Thank you for the review. We are a fan of Brittany too! Shore hotel tries to be good stewards of our environment in a comfortable setting. It seems we hit the mark. Hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Aaron Peaslee
Director of Guest Service

Green Fact of the Day: Shore Hotel's INNCOM computer system allows for our lights to turn off automatically when sensors detect guests are not in guest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews