We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,363 results
Traveller rating
583
407
182
107
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
407
182
107
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar art deco pool area two bedroom suite ocean view perfect location our honeymoon valet parking farmers market ocean avenue great shopping third street promenade los angeles venice beach pier concierge retro
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,363 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

This place has world charm and a five star staff. The views of breath taking and there are so many places to eat and drink. On Wednesday's there is a farmers market were you can get locally grow fruits and vegs.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Holly Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Holly Patrick M,

Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review! We are overjoyed to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel! We certainly take gratification in our superlative guest service, so to hear genuine praise of it is always heart warming. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

The hotel is astonishing beautiful, totally art deco. In front of the Ocean. We recomend the suit with a kitchen and terraces! The concierge, Adrienne is the best ever. The staff very friendlly. Free Internet everywhere is a great thing. If you are young and like hanging out, the roof top has a wonderful view and is very busy on week ends... Beautiful young people. The neighborhood is amazing, with a promenade only few blocks away... Infortunatelly they charge 40 dollars for the parking.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raquelsaraceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear raquelsaraceni,

Thank you for the superlative review! We sincerely appreciate you taking out the time to laud us, it helps out our hotel a great deal. We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again! Have a great rest of your year!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-La hotel for a total of 5 days after cancelling our reservation at a Hollywood hotel as we didn’t feel safe plus we liked the Shangri-La so much we didn’t want to leave.
The hotel has everything you need and although we didn’t use the pool or rooftop bar they looked amazing!

One thing to note if staying at the hotel and you have a car is the parking charge per day and also the hotel charge a daily amenity fee plus a resort fee and tax so if you’re staying for a few days this can all mount up to a hefty bill.

Please please use the Concierge for anything you need during your stay Adrienne was amazing and made us feel really special during our stay she will go above and beyond and can pretty much make anything happen - such a lovely attribute to this hotel and we can’t thank her enough for the memories we made whilst staying in Santa Monica, when we return the Shangri-La will definitely be our hotel to stay in.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gemma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear gemma r,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write!
We are thrilled to read about the extraordinary experience you had at Hotel Shangri-La and thanks again for your compliments on Adrienne. We believe that hospitality is personal and it all starts with a dedicated and caring team. We are veritably grateful for your company and your kind words. Reviews like this go a long way toward not only making our job significantly more rewarding but also immensely improving the repute of our hotel, so please believe us when we say we really cannot express the scale of our gratitude. It goes without saying that we wish you to visit us again, and sooner rather than later, so we may once again enjoy your companionship and in return, you may accordingly enjoy our assiduous service. Thank you again and we wish you and your family a wonderful rest of the year!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was amazing. We got an ocean view room and saw great sunset views! I would highly recommend and choose this hotel again and again. Housekeeping service was very good, came back serval times a day to clean and constantly topping up toiletries and fresh bottles of water daily. Beautiful beach across only a couple of minutes walk from where we are staying. Lots of space and not crowded at all. Overall I would say it’s the perfect destination for honeymooners, couples, families. Perfect location if you need some relaxation. Just make sure you take plenty of spending money as it is expensive. We stayed a total of 10 nights but most people stay only 4/5 days, I would say 7 nights was ample but as we were flying from the UK we wanted to make the most of it!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank embreeglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear embreeglen,

Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review! We are overjoyed to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel! We certainly take gratification in our superlative guest service, so to hear genuine praise of it is always heart warming. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Very nice and clean. wonderful position near a lot of restaurants and beach. Bar in terrace must be more pleasure. I am sorry haven't take dinner in your restaurant: I hope next time I shall be in santa Minica I prove it!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pietro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelShangrila1301, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Pietro M,

Thank you for the superlative review! We sincerely appreciate you taking out the time to laud us, it helps out our hotel a great deal. We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again! Have a great rest of the year!

Sincerely,
Hotel Shangri-La Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews