We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience”

Roaring Camp Railroads
Ranked #8 of 62 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See California’s towering redwood trees from two historic railroads. Ride steam trains to Bear Mountain or Beach Trains to Santa Cruz. Visit an 1880s logging town located in the Santa Cruz Mountains of California. Between San Francisco and Monterey Bay in Felton.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Date of experience: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"steam train"
in 51 reviews
"train ride"
in 86 reviews
"bear mountain"
in 17 reviews
"general store"
in 16 reviews
"henry cowell state park"
in 11 reviews
"open car"
in 7 reviews
"hot apple cider"
in 5 reviews
"redwood forest"
in 20 reviews
"western town"
in 4 reviews
"big trees"
in 11 reviews
"fun train"
in 5 reviews
"thomas the tank engine"
in 4 reviews
"great ride"
in 8 reviews
"face painting"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful trees"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 11 reviews
Filter

147 - 151 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 10:35 and was on the 11:15 train. Heaps of fun and the Christmas tree walk with Santa was an added bonus. Free cup of hot apple cider at the walk was nice. If you sit on the long open carriages, try and sit in the middle of the carriage - otherwise it is to hard to hear the presentation over people talking.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank jacquelined183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

It said on the ticket that if boarding the train in Santa Cruz, I could simply print it out and show it to the conductor. It just said the train would leave from the Boardwalk. No specific location... We showed up 30min early and found out we needed to line up to show our printout to get other tickets. Then someone announced that our paper ticket was ok and to line up by the bumper cars. Then the train came and the line was formed / organized in such a way that the people who were there first got to enter last.. people were literally muscling themselves into the linear the end. And, the conductor would just barely let us in since we had paper tickets. I paid over $80 for two kids and myself. I would expect that they could at least manage the lining up and ticketing for the train properly. Once we got in, we had to walk through five cars before finally finding seats. After that, the ride was ok.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Marit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Date of experience: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roaring Camp Railroads also viewed

 

Been to Roaring Camp Railroads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing