We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$367
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$324
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$566
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$334
US$262
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveller rating
723
478
118
50
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
723
478
118
50
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetstate streetgreat locationan ocean view roomlarge balconystearn's wharfocean frontseparate showerbottle of champagnenice pool areashops and restaurantsper nightbeautiful roomstayed longerupon checkstayed here for one nightroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The hotel is well located, in front of the beach and pier! The rooms are comfortable and you have a complete bathroom and another sink separated ( is perfect for women). You receive newspaper everyday. The hotel has good amenities and every night them live a small chocolate on your bedside table. When we arrived, was a bottle of wine and a welcome letters. Is not a boutique hotel, but they think in small things that make your stay there cozy.

Room Tip: Don't arrive too late at night, because others host could badly parked and you can't find a park for your car.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Nice location, but the main problem is staff, attitude is everything. It seems that guests is not all important, staff seems uninterested in taking care of the guests. Arrogancy, never-mind attitude all over make the stay not a good experience at all. Tecnically the rooms are OK, not more, average standard, plastic shower curtains in bathroom, unclean carpets. Here is room for massive improvement, from top to bottom, especially the staff. Pool was`nt close to clean, sand, unclear water, not good.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view is the best!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights August 7th weekend when Santa Barbara happens to be celebrating Spanish Day...viva la fiesta! Everybody were friendly and welcoming. The guys who keep track of the parked cars are super nice. We stayed on the second floor in an ocean front room #242 facing Cabrillo Street. The room was quite insulated and I did not hear much traffic or crowd from below. The A/C was also humming fairly low. The A/C control was working great too. (Some hotels around there don't have A/C. This weekend was quite cool and it still got pretty warm in the room. If you can't do warm room, then you need a room with a/c.) The king bed was so comfortable. They have turn down service. It was worth every penny of the 400 something dollars that the hotel charged for the room. They also provide L'Occitaine soap, shampoo, and lotion. This product might work well but they use lemongrass as the main scent. Not all might find it pleasant. The room also has a sitting area which you can put two or three extra people on air bed. They charge $15 extra for additional adults. They use soft water which may have contributed to the weird taste when you rinse your mouth. A few things that they might improve on are...the peep hole on the door is quite high and if you are 5 feet or under, forget looking to see who is knocking the door (reason for the 4 stars). The sink counter is also quite high. And they could move the mirror that is on the bathroom door and put it on the left wall next to the bathroom entrance instead, where it might be more useable. My brother had room #207 which was much larger. The room had a partial ocean view also. They do have rollaway beds and are $15 dollars a night extra. Parking is $10 a night but we didn't have a car. We got off Amtrak and walked to the hotel! Very convenient. The hotel is at the head of Stearns Warf where you can walk to Santa Barbara Fish Co Restaurant which has good food. Their lobster pasta was good. I would not get the crab cake or the cioppino 'cause they were ok. For dessert, walk to McConnells ice cream on State Street just past Ortega. The sweet cream, rocky road, and English toffee crunch are my personal favorites, and you must put them in a waffle cone that are freshly made. Get a few extra waffle cones to finish all the ice cream that you have :-) Slight disappointment in the plain croissants at Renaud's on Arlington and State Street. I expected better from what I read. I'm just used to getting them from Boulangerie Pierre in Westminster, CA.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room in the east or west wing if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank valentinanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I booked this hotel a few months ago for a girls weekend with my three friends. At $400 per night, it wasn't cheap, but for what seemed to be a great location and a spacious -looking room with two queen beds, it was fair. In the end, it turned out to be a steal!! First of all, we took the train and the hotel was a five minute walk away, so that was a plus. Check in was quick and easy. We were given our keys and directed to our room, which was on the third floor (the whole hotel is only 3 stories) facing the mountains, with a view to the right of the beach. (I'm sure once the construction going on in the area is complete, the view will be lovely. I am assuming there is no construction work on the weekend because I heard nothing on Saturday or Sunday, which is nice!) The room was very spacious with a nice sized balcony to hang out on. The décor is older, yet still fresh and comfortable. The beds were amazing! And, even though we were near the elevator, we heard no noise from the hallway. Seriously - this was one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed at - even with us being there for Fiesta weekend (we had no idea until we arrived)! The pool area is small, but nice, with food and drink service available. Lots of screaming kids, but there isn't much you can do about that. The beach is right across the street, as is the Pier. The bars and restaurants of State Street are a short walk, as well. All around, the Harbor View was awesome! I'll definitely be staying here again!! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, perfectly located hotel in Santa Barbara, this is it.

Room Tip: The top floor was extremely quiet!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eskeeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

This hotel was good and the rooms were spacious, clean and modern. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area was relaxing to go back to. The location is very good because you can walk up to the shops and restaurants and to the harbour within 5-10 minutes. We did have a problem with the socket in our room but this was very quickly sorted out by a member of staff. We also had a problem with one of the staff in the restaurant - his tone was not friendly, but again this was quickly reported.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews