We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
550
593
205
55
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
593
205
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmall across the streetstate streetfire pitwhole foodsbest westernspool areapatio doorsfresh fruitbottled watera ground floor roomshort driveon site restaurantbit datedroad triphot tubeasy accessgreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Best Western Pepper Tree Santa Barbara for two nights. It's a great location and the hotel is clean, restaurant fine for breakfast, pool is lovely but the pull out sofa bed is really only suitable for young kids. Our 16 year old son who is 6ft tall struggled to sleep well on it and it creaked alot. Bathroom is a strange arrangement with separated toilet and sink...sink area open to hallway leading to the room. Small quibbles and overall we had a lovely stay because of the location. It's on State Street...the main thoroughfare but not within walking distance of sea front but a very direct driving route. Shopping mall right across the road...Vons is a great convenience store. It would obviously cost more to be nearer the sea front. Santa Barbara is gorgeous. Would highly recommend the hotel...but use the sofa bed for smallies not adults or teens!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Greetings Deirdre M,

We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Please note that we can offer futon sleeping mats that may provide a more comfortable sleeping experience. You are correct, it would cost more to stay at the waterfront, hence we are so happy to be able offer our guests a great value knowing that our location provides easy access to all of the popular attractions of the area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Pepper Tree Inn. Cheers, Chivaun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I am only sorry we didn’t book more than one night here. It is a great little hotel, the front desk staff were very welcoming , helpful and friendly.it has a lovely pool area with a jacuzzi, which we didn’t get time to use unfortunately. The rooms were big, clean and the bed was the comfiest ever.the decor is old fashioned but really? Who cares about that as long as it is clean and comfy and safe.wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wackojackoNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Best Westerns are quite individual and the ‘Plus’ helps to keep the standard high. This hotel provided a very comfortable room with two double beds, seating and coffee table plus a good size bathroom.
The lobby team were very helpful and knew Santa Barbara well giving good recommendations for restaurants in town. It is helped that SB is a lovely place but the hotel was good value and made our stay very enjoyable.
State Street is a left turn out of the hotel then follow the route to the hub of SB, turn right and route 101 is there to take you further afield. A great stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rwarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

My husband had a two day teacher conference at this hotel, so I decided to see the sights. First of all, for the price I imagine this hotel closer to the beach--it isn't. Also, we are Best Western Rewards members so I am familiar with the chain and always enjoyed a full breakfast--this hotel does not offer one , not even a continental. For the price charged, and not centrally located near the beach, I was very disappointed. However, the rooms are clean (as is other Best Westerns). The only difference I saw was the rooms are larger and they give you treats and water, which I rather have a breakfast. Overall, I would choose another Best Western to stay at perhaps a cheaper price that serves breakfast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank 1rmcbrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Greetings 1rmcbrl,

I appreciate reading your comments. Thank you for the compliment of our large rooms and our in room amenities. Although we do not offer breakfast as part of the rate there is a restaurant onsite where our guests may enjoy a very hearty breakfast. As you can imagine, the hotels that are located closer to the beach do charge a higher fee. We are happy to be able to offer a great value to our guests due to our convenient city location. Thank you for being a loyal Best Western Reward Member. Kind regards, Chivaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Third hotel of our stay in California. Friendly staff at the hotel who were helpful. Room was clean and beds comfortable. Pool located by our room. Excellent parking facilities as parked outside our room. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Trishmc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews