We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced, over-rated”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

$160-plus for a Best Western ? Waaaaaaaaaaaay over-rated and over-priced. Old motel that's out of date and needs some major renovations. Rooms are noisy due to no sound-proofing or insulation. No complimentary breakfast for this rate is indicative of the fact owners are trying to run this as cheaply as possible. Also very surly front desk staff

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilli3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPinkstaff, Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Twilli3434,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn. I’m sorry that you feel our hotel was over-priced. While Santa Barbara guest rooms tend to be higher priced than other destinations, we strive to include great value and amenities that you might not find at other Santa Barbara hotels. In addition to our great location, across the street from La Cumbre Shopping Plaza, we hope you enjoyed our complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit in your room, Crabtree & Evelyn bath products, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals, and our variety of coffees offered in the lobby 24 hours a day.

While we do not offer complimentary breakfast for our guests, we do offer fresh coffee and fresh fruit in our lobby 24 hours a day. We also have a full service restaurant onsite that is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service.

I am disappointed you experienced less than our usual hospitality and guest service. I will be sharing your concerns with my front desk staff and seek to find out why we demonstrated less then exemplary service. Our goal in management and with staff is to provide excellent customer service to our guests 24 hours a day.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Should you return to Santa Barbara, we hope you will give us another try. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Chivaun Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    498
    179
    41
    26
See reviews for
388
437
35
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Big room, fridge, microwave, huge bad, fresh fruit. Shopping malls are close. Not too far from Trader Joe's. Very close to the freeway. 10 min from UCSB. 10 min from downtown Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have been traveling down the coast and have stopped in 5 different hotels and this has been the best by far.

Big rooms, sofa, flat tv, fridge, microwave etc and the staff were polite and helpful. Nice little extra touchs like fresh fruit each morning and a newspaper.

The hotel and grounds are immaculate.

Only negative you may have is it's a 25 minute walk downtown on state street but personally I'd take the ups each time.

My new favorite hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishcouple30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Lovely comfortable room, very friendly staff and good facilities. Stayed here for 3 nights and would have easily stayed the week, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Comfortable room and bed. Helpful reception staff. Located opposite Macys. Parking in town is free for first 75 mins then $1.50 per hour after. Didn't eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.9 km away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
6.2 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
4.8 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
3.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing