We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things...”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 3 April 2015

This was our second time back in the last 3 months. We enjoyed a fantastic suite with a deck which we ate breakfast on each morning. My husband and I prefer boutique hotels and their attention to details. The pillow on the bed has your initial on it, there was a fruit plate and wine in your room on arrival, etc. The gym facilities are very nice and the pool is relaxing. Dinner on their deck at sunset is a must. It's very reasonably priced for a boutique hotel. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happinessafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, Executive Assistant Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Dear happinessafar,

Thrilled you enjoyed all of Belmond El Encanto's delightful touches from the welcome amenity to our residential terrace living spaces to enjoy the perfect Santa Barbara climate and gardens on property. Would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a little longer.

Best regards,

Stella Ahn
Executive Assistant Manager
stella.ahn@belmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 579 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2015

Tucked away in the hills of Santa Barbara, this is a truly enchanted hotel, with sweeping ocean and city views. My stay was every bit wonderful, the staff went out of their way to make me and others feel like we were their most important guest.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, Executive Assistant Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Dear Jeff S.,

Thank you for your complimentary review of Belmond El Encanto! Our enchanted hideaway is the ideal destination for serenity amidst the stunning backdrop of the American Riviera coastline. Would be our delight to welcome you back to enjoy springtime in our gardens or for a summertime retreat.

Best regards,

Stella Ahn
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I had the most wonderful time there over the weekend. The service was amazing and everyone remembered my name. They treated my dog so well too and remembered his name! Tyson Torres, the restaurant director, was so thoughtful and attentive to me. It's a beautiful place and worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jfreedman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, Executive Assistant Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Belmond El Encanto is happy to welcome your four-legged family members as well! Luxurious dog beds, organic gluten free dog food and bottled water await. I am incredibly proud to have Tyson as part of our team. His commitment to guest satisfaction is admirable and I thank you for recognizing him. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me if we may be of assistance.

Best regards,

Stella Ahn
Executive Assistant Manager
stella.ahn@belmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

This was one of the best hotel stays ever. The hotel manager upgraded us to an amazing suite, and a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting to welcome us in. The staff were one step above anywhere in the world you would receive top service, they seemed to enjoy being at your service and did it so pleasantly and with superb elegance. I highly anticipate soon to return and enjoy this truly Enchanted place.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, Executive Assistant Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Monica S.,

Thrilled we could make your recent visit to Belmond El Encanto exceptional! I am proud to state Belmond El Encanto recognizes all occasions with special welcome amenities. Along with acknowledging all special occasions, Belmond El Encanto welcome all hotel guests with a bottle of El Encanto Cuvée wine upon arrival! Hope we may welcome you back in the not too distant future and please feel free to contact me if I may be of assistance.

Best regards,

Stella Ahn
Executive Assistant Manager
stella.ahn@belmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We visited El Encanto Saturday 3/28 and hand drinks and appetizers in the lounge prior to dinner on the terrace. We had the short ribs, ceviche, salmon and garden salads. Everything tasted so fresh and well prepared. Aaron our server was impeccable. He saw to every need and was so polite to watch our conversations and not interrupt. His graciousness with all explanations was the finishing touch on a incredibly wonderfully artfully prepared meal. Our compliments to the Chef. Tyler our busser worked so well with Aaron he was also seemless, polite and very curteous and attentive to our needs. What an experience to remember and revisit soon..

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElEncantoSB, Executive Assistant Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Dear Scott M.,

Thank you for your complimentary review of Belmond El Encanto. Our Dining Room offerings from the menu as well as our seamless style for service truly make for an exceptional occasion to visit. Chef Leo's Signature California Halibut Ceviche is an authentic representation of a ceviche, Chef Leo having been brought up in a fisherman and culinary household his ceviche is definitive.

Would be our pleasure to welcome you back perhaps for another weekend getaway for an early summer retreat. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of assistance.

Best regards,

Stella Ahn
Executive Assistant Manager
stella.ahn@belmond.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
1.8 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
1.2 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
40 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
3.8 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €356 - €747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing