We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
283
88
19
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
88
19
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenhotel hostelmurphy bedshared roomscool decorstate streetcool hotelrooms are smalloutdoor poolwine tastingbagelsperfect locationamtrak stationawesome hotelwalking distancetea and coffeevisiting santa barbara
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

This is an interesting hotel. The location off of State Street is good, it is clean and although the rooms are small the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is interesting. Hard to explain but the shower had a glass wall/door that you closed when you showered and it had to be open if you wanted to use the toilet. When you enter the hotel there is a big open kitchen where a nice breakfast is served in the morning, coffee and tea are always available and you can use the kitchen if you want to cook your meal. We stayed for UCSB graduation weekend so the rates were high but all hotels in the area were high.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in room 209.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewmacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi ewmacv,
Thank you for your review of our recent stay at The Wayfarer! The team takes great pride in taking care of our guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

P.S. Go Gauchos! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Love this little hotel - it’s located about 5 minutes walk from the Amtrak station, in the hip Funk Zone, with several wine tasting rooms and one brewery within stone’s throw and walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants in downtown Santa Barbara.
The open kitchen for those meals you wanted to do yourself instead of eating out was just icing on the cake!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Khukri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi!
Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay! It is great to hear you enjoyed time in Santa Barbara and at The Wayfarer.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I were very excited to book with the Wayfarer; the pictures looked cute online. We were highly disappointed and deceived when we could barely set foot inside this ~120 square foot room (we booked the queen sized bed). Basically, “boutique” means for miniature people. There was nowhere to place our luggage; luggage was placed on the small amount of space we had at the foot of our bed on the ground, which meant we couldn’t walk around the bed. There is a glass shower door that is used for the main bathroom door, which means zero privacy if you are sharing a room with someone. The toilet is practically in the shower! When taking a shower, there is another tiny glass door you move immediately in front of the toilet (an inch away) and a shower curtain that doesn’t reach the floor separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom (with what little room there is). So, with this terrible design, taking a shower flooded our bathroom. Literally. We tried getting ready that morning in a quarter inch of water on the bathroom floor.
Other ‘charmers’ include the Wayfarer being right next door to a strip club and freeway. The worst part of this whole experience is they charge you 15 extra dollars to park at their hotel when you show up (this was nowhere indicated on the website we booked through). I think that part made us the most angry...we show up tired after a long day of traveling and they nickel and dime you to park your car. What nonsense. We will NEVER come back here and will be sure to tell others the same.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kadisha28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Kadisha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Wayfarer. The entire staff at the Wayfarer takes pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests and we are always looking for ways to improve.

We appreciate feedback from our guests and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Fun staff, very clean and really clever layouts. We stayed in a room with two Murphy beds and a king size bed. Didn’t get to use the Murphy beds but they are really well designed. Great bathroom layout. Close to a lot of good restaurants and the wharf. Parking is $17/night and there are few on street alternatives. Close to road and train but room noise was not bothersome.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi John R,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! The entire staff takes pride in providing the best possible experience for visitors to the Wayfarer and we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

After getting married in Las Vegas we dropped in here on our way upto San Francisco ...room was small but clean first impressions were good and the hotels position was great not a long walk to either the beach or the main town ...we missed communial breakfast as we were kept awake most of the night due to the traffic/railway noise ..on departure we were asked if our stay had been OK and explained the room was fine but the noise had kept us awake ...the receptionist just said Oh....not a comment we expected as I say good position nice rooms but BEWARE if you want a good sleep go somewhere else

Room Tip: Noisy and no compassion from the reception staff
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robbo123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Robbo123_12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at the Wayfarer. The entire staff at the Wayfarer takes pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests and we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews