We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in the perfect city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Santa Barbara is somewhere I can't get enough of. I went to school there, I got married there, but I just don't get to visit as often as I'd like.

Now that I have a young child, rather than stay by the beach like we usually do, it was time to find a more central location to stay. The Canary is a hotel I've visited over the years to have a snack or cocktail in the great restaurant in the lobby, and to sneak to the rooftop pool area for the view, but I had not stayed until recently.

The reviews for the Canary are almost all positive, which only further built my interest in staying there. I can attest that every positive note you've read is well deserved.

The great service started in the valet reception area. As often happens with smaller boutique hotels, our valet was also our bellman, which made for great continuity. While he gathered our bags and baby accessories (piles and piles of them) from the car, we went to the front desk where we were promptly greeted by a glass of wine of our choice from a few varietals available. Very nice touch, and it really makes you feel welcome. While other hotels cut corners to save money, the Canary takes an opportunity to set the tone for a great experience to come.

After check in, our valet/bellman accompanied us to our rooms and offloaded our bags. The only misstep I can find at all is that he didn't point out the hidden mini-bar and snack drawer which would have gotten quite a bit of use had we known about it.

As we settled in we were impressed by the size, stature and comfort of the bed. The rest of the room was very tasteful, and the bathroom was nicely done with more than sufficient water pressure. The room was really very nice and extremely clean (a feat complicated by the fact that this is a pet friendly hotel, where your pet can stay with you for no additional fee).

While the hotel is remarkable on it's own, when you factor in the location, this is a no brainer. Sure, you're not on the ocean, but staying along the coast limits what you can see and do in the city. The Canary is a true home base, where you can easily take a short bike or trolly ride to the coast, or stroll on foot to numerous bars, restaurants, or one of the dozens of retail stores which are surrounding the hotel. While I didn't get to take advantage of it, the hotel is directly next door to a full service gym, which guests get to use during their stay.

I can't say enough nice things about the Canary. The restaurant in the lobby is truly remarkable, which I'll cover in a review for them.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Chris-I think you may love Santa Barbara and the Canary almost as much as I do! What a beautiful and thorough review! I love that you notice we take many opportunities to set the tone for a great experience, instead of looking into areas to remove non essentials. Experience and a great product are certainly a big part of our focus.
Thanks Chris!
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 538 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2015

If you want a classy place to stay, bring your dog, have a nice room with friendly service and great food this is your place. its not a fortune. Its worth all of what you pay for the beautiful rooftop pool with a spectacular view. Its within walking distance to all of the local gourmet restaurants if you are a foodie. There are no bad reviews to leave. We are repeat clients.

Room Tip: Pick a front facing room otherwise you face a parking structure on the back but they are nice rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Maureen,
It's a pleasure hosting you repeatedly, thank you for your loyalty and your kind sentiments about the hotel and the value of staying with us. Can't wait to continue to be your home away from home in Santa Barbara.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, General Manager
Ryan.Parker@CanarySantaBarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

This is Santa Barbara at its finest. We have stayed in many SB hotels, but the Canary ranks near the top of the pack. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, the staff is professional to the core. The room was lovely, had all the amenities you need. While we didn't dine in the restaurant, it was always jam packed. It is incredibly convenient to all the shops and restaurants a half block away on State Street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Val- I'm so happy you loved the location and had such a great experience start to finish. Thanks for such a glowing review and we can't wait to host you again!
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

We booked the canary for a Valentine's weekend get away in Santa Barbara. Needing room for a crib, we decided to book the suite which was a beautiful room and perfectly sized.
Upon arrival we were greeted and helped with our luggage by Greg. From there we were checked in by Meaghan. Throughout our stay both Greg and Meaghan went above and beyond to ensure we were having a great trip.
The Canary was beautifully designed and nicely laid out. I'd consider it comfortably elegant - much nicer than most hotels without being so over the top that our roaming infant was going to destroy something worth more than our home!
The location was a perfect home base for exploring downtown Santa Barbara and less than a mile from getting on the highway for winery excursions.
We found the onsite restaurant to be ok, not bad, but not in line with some of the 5 star reviews.
The nightly wine tasting is a nice idea, but I'd like to see The Canary feature local wines. The wines we saw featured were low end supermarket finds - seems like a miss for a hotel that gets it right in so many areas and sitting in the middle of great local wines.
Also, the concierge service was very friendly, but a bit misguided. I'd suggest just doing your own research on dining options.
Overall a great stay made even more memorable by Meaghan's world class service and hospitality.
We are already looking forward to our return.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank JackG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

JackG- Thanks for the great suggestions and compliments. Meaghan and Gregg certainly are happy to know their genuine care and hospitality was something that left a good impression on you. PS- working on more of the local wines as we speak!
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

clean, friendly, excellent accommodations and pet friendly. the restaurant was accommodating and the food was to par. the staff knows who you are and treats you with the intent to make you feel at home. my puppy was happy and the staff is pet friendly in every possible way. the best part is you walk out of the hotel and onto state street where the restaurants and shopping is anything you may be looking for.

Room Tip: suites are quite and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sureddymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Sureddymd,
Great review- thank you! And a special thanks to your puppy, say hi and woof from the flock at the Canary.
Cheers,
Ryan A Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,280 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
505 reviews
1.1 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
173 reviews
2.1 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,072 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €267 - €561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing