We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$435/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$367
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$242
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$381
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Beachside Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$324
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveller rating
806
252
71
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
252
71
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolfour poster bedfinch and forkstate streetwine hourdowntown santa barbaracomplimentary winebeautiful hotelupgraded to a suitehardwood floorsour honeymoonvalet staffhot tubshops and restaurantsmorning coffeeturn down servicebeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

If you want a classy place to stay, bring your dog, have a nice room with friendly service and great food this is your place. its not a fortune. Its worth all of what you pay for the beautiful rooftop pool with a spectacular view. Its within walking distance to all of the local gourmet restaurants if you are a foodie. There are no bad reviews to leave. We are repeat clients.

Room Tip: Pick a front facing room otherwise you face a parking structure on the back but they are nice rooms so its not a big deal.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Maureen,
It's a pleasure hosting you repeatedly, thank you for your loyalty and your kind sentiments about the hotel and the value of staying with us. Can't wait to continue to be your home away from home in Santa Barbara.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, General Manager
Ryan.Parker@CanarySantaBarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

This is Santa Barbara at its finest. We have stayed in many SB hotels, but the Canary ranks near the top of the pack. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, the staff is professional to the core. The room was lovely, had all the amenities you need. While we didn't dine in the restaurant, it was always jam packed. It is incredibly convenient to all the shops and restaurants a half block away on State Street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Val- I'm so happy you loved the location and had such a great experience start to finish. Thanks for such a glowing review and we can't wait to host you again!
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

We booked the canary for a Valentine's weekend get away in Santa Barbara. Needing room for a crib, we decided to book the suite which was a beautiful room and perfectly sized.
Upon arrival we were greeted and helped with our luggage by Greg. From there we were checked in by Meaghan. Throughout our stay both Greg and Meaghan went above and beyond to ensure we were having a great trip.
The Canary was beautifully designed and nicely laid out. I'd consider it comfortably elegant - much nicer than most hotels without being so over the top that our roaming infant was going to destroy something worth more than our home!
The location was a perfect home base for exploring downtown Santa Barbara and less than a mile from getting on the highway for winery excursions.
We found the onsite restaurant to be ok, not bad, but not in line with some of the 5 star reviews.
The nightly wine tasting is a nice idea, but I'd like to see The Canary feature local wines. The wines we saw featured were low end supermarket finds - seems like a miss for a hotel that gets it right in so many areas and sitting in the middle of great local wines.
Also, the concierge service was very friendly, but a bit misguided. I'd suggest just doing your own research on dining options.
Overall a great stay made even more memorable by Meaghan's world class service and hospitality.
We are already looking forward to our return.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank JackG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

JackG- Thanks for the great suggestions and compliments. Meaghan and Gregg certainly are happy to know their genuine care and hospitality was something that left a good impression on you. PS- working on more of the local wines as we speak!
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

clean, friendly, excellent accommodations and pet friendly. the restaurant was accommodating and the food was to par. the staff knows who you are and treats you with the intent to make you feel at home. my puppy was happy and the staff is pet friendly in every possible way. the best part is you walk out of the hotel and onto state street where the restaurants and shopping is anything you may be looking for.

Room Tip: suites are quite and spacious
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sureddymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Sureddymd,
Great review- thank you! And a special thanks to your puppy, say hi and woof from the flock at the Canary.
Cheers,
Ryan A Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

The hotel is very well located in Santa Barbara. It is a very nice hotel with very nice and courteous staff. Rooms and amenities are clean and comfortable. The bar/restaurant provides a nice option for a drink before and/or after visiting. Highly recommend for your stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony and Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2015

Tony and Javier, thank you for the friendly and positive recommendations. Our team here is glad you found us courteous and that you enjoyed our nest. Come back soon, we'd love to welcome you back.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, General Manager
ryan.parker@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews