We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The room was smaller than I anticipated, but it's in line with most boutique hotels at which I've stayed. The amenities were state-of-the art and the hotel was well cared for clean. The proximity to the train station is convenient; however, if you're a late riser it may pose a problem.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank defortunate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear defortunate1,

Thanks for leaving us a review! You are right, since we are a boutique hotel, our rooms are smaller by nature. However, we try our best to make guests feel as comfortable as possible. We even employ special space-saving techniques, such as our convertible showers, to ensure that our guests feel comfy and cozy. Hopefully you had a chance to take advantage of our awesome amenities, including our complimentary bike rentals, art library, and fitness studio. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

Great price, room was small, but fine for one night. Funky shower in tiny bathroom, but it worked great. Window actually opened, which I loved. Staff was excellent, recommended fantastic restaurants and gave pretty directions. Parking guy was nice too.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, go for a queen instead of King, you will have more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear S J,

Thanks for leaving us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you got a chance to explore our awesome neighborhood. Being steps from the beach and from Downtown Santa Barbara means there is always something fun to do nearby. We are also happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

After our initial shock at how small the room was, we quickly moved past that to thoroughly enjoy this quaint boutique hotel. The rooms, while quite small, had everything we needed (except maybe a room fridge!) and all the furnishings were top of the line. The mattress was super comfortable as were the pillows. The A/C worked really well and was not too noisy (which can often happen in hotels!). The bathroom was also super small BUT it worked and all the finishes were top notch - and I really loved the tile! The whole room was super clean.

As noted by other reviewers, the staff was very friendly, greeting us each time we walked through the lobby. There is on site valet parking, which is pricey, but certainly convenient. We only used the car once, the rest of the time we walked everywhere - to the Marina, to the beach, to restaurants - and there are so many within walking distance. Too many to choose from!

The Amtrak station is right by the hotel and the train noise was not a problem for us at all (though ear plugs were provided). It is a great place to visit by train, and leave the car behind.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: To get more space, book a room with a garden sitting area. It was worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear AnneAndrews,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a detailed review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the style, comfort, and design of our boutique hotel. Although our spaces are smaller, due to the boutique nature of the hotel, we try our very best to employ every inch of space as efficiently as possible. We are also glad to hear that our staff was friendly and attentive. We have our team work around the clock to make sure that all our guests are attended to and feel one hundred percent comfortable. Hopefully you had a nice, relaxing stay and got a chance to enjoy the beautiful weather and our vibrant neighborhood. Once again, we appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Every staff member was extremely approachable and friendly. The valet was very helpful with parking info. and Mathew went above and beyond answering my questions. The room was small but modern, my family and I loved the balcony lounges that were available.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank k_cortopassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear k_cortopassi,

Thanks for leaving us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to commend Matthew for a job well done and make sure that he keeps up the awesome work. Hopefully you had a chance to sit back, relax, and enjoy the warm sunny weather on the outdoor terrace as well as enjoying our other amenities as well. Not only do we offer complimentary bike rentals, but we also have an art library, fitness studio, and business center. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Trendy boutique hotel in the funk district lived up to our expectations..Yes, the room was small-European style- but offered all we needed and with the patio door we could enjoy sitting on our own patio each day. valet parking ( gift if you DON'T bring a car) snacks, gym ( small) wine, in room keurig,wonderful art and friendly staff made this a place we will return to

Room Tip: We had a neighbor with a dog who barked quite a bit- but we weren't bothered. No other noises-bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
342 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
879 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €134 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco-friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, art library, living wall, open air lounges, and a MCASB Satellite art museum. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing