We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Just the right size and walking distance to everything.

Rooms ate awesome as well as the staff. Made us great reservations for dinner: Downey's and Seagrass. Great experience.

Thx!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sntacruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    172
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
203
711
40
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at the Inn of the Spanish Garden. It was our first visit to Santa Barbara and this little hideaway was perfect. Just a few blocks from the hustle and bustle of State Street, this quiet boutique hotel was in walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. And only a 15 minute walk to the ocean. Our room (Number 10) overlooked the small pool area, was quiet, spacious and clean. Every morning we were greeted by the cordial staff overseeing the continental breakfast (lattes included). The personnel at the front desk were valuable in helping us restaurant selections, hiking areas and sight seeing ideas....special kudos to Brian and Izimu. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Barbara, but would not recommend to families with small children...to us it was the perfect 'adult' getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boymomOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed in January and the weather was cool. Our room had a gas fireplace, as most or all rooms do, which was both attractive and effective at taking the chill off of the room. There was also a regular heat/ac system. The room was spacious, nice seating area by the fire, nice bathroom and amenities. It is near the courhouse and shopping yet in a very quiet location. Our room and balcony overlooked an open courtyard with a fountain which would be a great place to lounge in warmer weather. Breakfast was included and was good. Wine is available and some limited snack items from the kitched. The cheese plate was great and enough for four people. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. We felt comfortable and "at home" from the minute we got there. It gets a little $$$$ during higher demand times but is definitely worth some extra dollars.

Room Tip: Some rooms on second floor require access by stairs. There is underground parking with an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

When i want to stay someplace romantic in Santa Barbara, something smaller and more personal than the Biltmore (another favorite) i always come to the Inn at the Spanish garden. All of the rooms have fire places, bath tubs and comfortable beds- perfect for romance and relaxation! Even cozy when it rains!

Free wine tastings in the lobby give you a chance mingle if you want, or just something fun to do before dinner. Locations is very central to downtown if you want to go out, and the staff is very knowledgeable and helpful if you want to set up an wine tasting or other excursions.

if i recall correctly, they don't have a restaurant so no room service, but they make up for it with their DVD library (i just love this at a hotel, i don't know why!)

Anyhow, if you stay here for either romance or business, i don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: I prefer NOT over the pool for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel_snob0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester MN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My partner and I just returned from a 1-week vacation in Santa Barbara, staying -- for the first time -- at the Inn of the Spanish Garden. The accommodations, staff and location were wonderful. We have done a great deal of traveling, both for business and pleasure, and the staff at this small hotel were amazingly friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookerRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanishGardenInn, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
We are so happy that you chose our Inn for your week in Santa Barbara! Thank you for taking the time to share you kind comments. I am glad we helped make your stay memorable. Hope to see you again soon! Laurie Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.6 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.1 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
565 reviews
1.8 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
141 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
403 reviews
5.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Property: Spanish Garden Inn
Address: 915 Garden St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing