We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
148
101
33
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
101
33
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street east beach tiled bathroom ocean view nice pool full kitchen friendly receptionist walk in shower pool deck coffee maker big hotel free parking state street other guests two nights would definitely stay here again sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had room 12 which was bright and airy with views over a park area and out to the beach and sea Very nice room ,Clean and comfortable.
Lots of oil rigs lurking offshore. Don't know if this is the reason that some people have suffered with tar.
Reception very friendly. A few minor details but was told coffee would be available at reception and when we wanted it was not available. did not have a hair dryer
These are minor glitches that they are attending to. Overall a very nice location with free parking . Cycles are available and a good cycle track to ride on.

Room tip: Room twelve great views
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tabletopmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I’m not one to bandy the word “sweet” around but for whatever reason that’s what comes to mind for this small boutique inn. Only 12 rooms with, I believe, 4 downstairs and the rest upstairs. There did not appear to be an elevator. I think most of the rooms overlook the pool - running along one side of it, (the other side being parking) with some – like ours, #6, having a bit of a view of the ocean. One car parking space per room and fairly tight spaces so probably not good to bring your 40 foot road barge!
On checking in a little early we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and then the manager? or owner? who invited us to the art reception they were having that evening. We had a prior engagement but when we were leaving for that they were setting up the band and eats which looked a nice spread. Sadly they were all gone when we arrived back later! We also received a canvas bag – to keep - for shopping, beach use. As they promote local artists all the rooms have some original artwork on the walls.
The rooms have been recently renovated and ours was spotlessly clean. It appears each one may be a little different as our friend 2 doors down had a slightly different layout and a fireplace. The rooms now have A/C which had been mentioned as lacking in previous reviews but you could open the bathroom window and the main windows by the door so you are able to get a cross breeze.
The beds were very comfortable and hooray, plenty of big pillows that didn’t force your head into an awkward position. Extra pillows and blankets were in the large walk in closet.
My one gripe here was that there was no dresser or shelving for your clothes apart from the shelf over the clothes rail (with the extra bedding). Not even a rack for your luggage. There was ample room in our closet to accommodate something like that.
Our room did contain a “bench” which we used as a sort of dresser, a wicker chair, good sized fridge, microwave and coffee machine. Decent tea and coffee was provided and a carafe you could fill with water from the machine outside reception. Flat screen TV on the wall. No phone. Iron/ board available on request.
A nicely tiled bathroom and walk in shower. There were plenty of towels, a hair dryer and pump bottles of soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Make up remover towelettes and most important perhaps Oil Slick remover towels. Yes the lovely stretch of beach there oozes with tar
Outside the room a small table & chairs to enjoy your cuppa or glass of wine.
The pool deck has loungers, it’s not a huge area but there is another spot outside the pool fencing with built in seating and some tables. It was all nicely landscaped and the tiled stairs were a nice touch. Beach/ pool towels are provided on request.
Pets are accepted but see their policy on that.
On their web page you get an idea of what the rooms look like although #6 was not like that, the closet & “kitchen” area were switched.
Coffee/chocolate/tea available in the reception. No breakfast included. Reception is closed from 9pm – 9am but phone numbers are provided if it's necessary to contact management.
It is a located at East Beach but still within walking distance of Stearns Wharf and the downtown area and even the Maritime Museum is just less than 2 miles.
It certainly is somewhere I would be happy to stay at again.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank hornbeamVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Lovely Motel to stay in. We were here for one night whilst driving up the coast. Had a gorgeous room with ocean view. Very clean comfortable and modern. The pool area looked very nice but sadly didn't get chance to use it. Was a comfortable walking distance to shops, restaurants etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Fantastic hotel, very central, walking distance to restaurants, the wharf and definitely the beach. Great service, the rooms were clean and fresh. The makeover of the hotel has been fantastic. Would definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute beach getaway. We were pleasantly surprised with the brand new hotel we arrived at! Blue Sands Motel had great location and enjoyable service. The best part was how fresh and clean the rooms were! We will be staying here again!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 792brittanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews