We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly, clean, quiet, right near the beach”
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sands Motel
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Nothing fancy from the outside, but they welcome dogs and it's clean and updated on the inside. Very comfy bed. We had room 4 with a king and a kitchenette. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked a two bedroom suite and was just what we needed. A stones throw away from the beach, but a 15 - 20 minute walk to the main bit of Santa Barbara and so if you don't want to walk that far...! It was fine for us though and we took advantage of the 75 minutes free parking in the centre the next day as we were short on time. Excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellsbellsShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Walking to the beach, very courteous staff, clean with kitchennette and swimming pool. Convinient store walking distance. Affordable. Tony is very friendly and accommodating. Our second time and we'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayloidaelicerio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in several places, similarly priced, over our week in Southern California, and this one probably ranked close to the bottom because of the beds. The room itself was just fine, and clean, with cute details and a nice TV. It was cute but basic, but I get the impression that that's what you get in Santa Barbara unless you are willing and able to shell out big bucks. We love that the place is dog friendly, and it's nice that there is a pool, free parking, and the staff seemed very friendly. However, the beds are quite uncomfortable. Specifically, the mattresses feel hard and old, the pillows essentially flatten to the mattress when you put your head on them, but worst of all the sheets feel like sandpaper. We had to put T shirts over our pillow cases to sleep comfortably. All in all, a decent place to stay for a night or two, especially with dogs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonida85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Checkin was easy, with parking right in front of the rooms. Small pool in front to lounge. Rooms where charming with a fireplace and even a tiny wine cooler. Tv, coffee maker, fridge and strong Wifi give one the needed gadgets to "survive". The room and bathroom with shower only, was clean and renovated nicely.
Motel was located right across from the long strip of beach. However its at least a 15 minute walk to the pier and State street (main city street). During the day it was a great stroll, or you can take the $0.25 trolley that goes along the beach and State street. At night it becomes a little deserted (Labour Day Monday night) to walk along the beach to get back to the motel. As well the train rain through the vicinity at 6:45am with its horns blaring - just a note for the light sleeper.
Overall nice little stay, and if you have a car it shouldn't be a problem to get into the main area of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
891 reviews
0.1 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
159 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
2.2 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 S Milpas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3645
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €151 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing