We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a GREAT place to stay in Santa Barbara.”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a GREAT place to stay in Santa Barbara.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We happened upon the Marina Beach a year ago. This year, we couldn't wait to stay there again. We weren't disappointed! It is cute, clean, funtional, friendly. The location is perfect... half a block from the beach. They have a great breakfast and loaner bicycles. We highly recommend the Marina Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    206
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
105
314
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We love this little motel! They offer a nice little breakfast in the morning and bikes to explore the town with. We are never able to stay in Santa Barbara for more than a night due to our busy work schedules but they were able to let us work though the two day weekend min night stay since they had availability, very nice!! We love to location and proximity to the ocean and state street!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubertons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our second time at this friendly motor inn style hotel. The rooms are in a semi-circle, your car right in front of you. The fee for pets is $15.00 per night, but they had a special deal on their website that if you asked, you got $20.00 off the going rate! Last visit we stayed in the larger room with the kitchen. It was a nice sized room, but I would have loved to see some very basic things in the kitchen, maybe a few paper plates or utensils. There is nothing in the kitchen in terms of cooking or eating equipment, so bring your own. This trip we had the smaller room. Dogs are not allowed in the patio or larger tub rooms. While the room was a bit small, it was cozy and clean. Be sure and turn the frig up when you get in the room, it was on the lowest setting and is not kept cold all the time. It worked fine however for leftovers and drinks. Breakfast is in the lobby, yogurt, bagels, fruit and baked goods. There is fresh coffee and Stash tea all day in the lobby as well as bikes you can take out for free during the day. Only a block to the beach, so it is a nice location. You can not leave your dog in the room when you are gone, so plan accordingly. All pet hotels I have been in are that way to avoid problems. We had no problems with noise either trip, not even dogs barking. This recent trip the hotel was totally full as well. For just over $100 a night, I thought it was a great value and the staff are very friendly as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4us22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Using the AAA book, we drove to this motel because it took dogs. The setting is pretty enough but it is really just a painted up creaky old motel from the 40's. Coats of paint don't make the place sound proof and even reasonable neighbours making normal sounds kept us awake. For $179 before taxes, the price was staggering for a tiny room where every sound the people made in the next room was audible -even turning over in bed. We left before the sun was up after a sleepless night. There are lots of hotels in Santa Barbara. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This motel was absolutely charming and just 1/2 block from the beach. It is a motor court so you can drive your car right to your door. The rooms are spacious and sparkling clean. We had a misunderstanding of what we were renting when we first arrived, but the front desk folks cleared it up immediately and were very gracious. The but, is that the walls are very, very thin. The first two nights were delightful, but the third night had guests next door. I heard everything. Not fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.6 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Property: Marina Beach Motel
Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing