We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed for 1 nignt in February 2012. We arrived about 11am and were not able to check in. The reception staff did not have a map and were rather unhelpful. When we did check in the room was nice, it didn't have a hairdryer or tea and coffee facilities. There was wifi but you had to pay for it. It was ok but expensive for the quality, however this seems to be the price you pay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    106
    132
    49
    27
See reviews for
81
160
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed here several times and will return again. The rooms have been updated and are very comfortable. Considering the extremely high prices for hotels in Santa Barbara, this is a great deal and wonderful location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamalwayslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spent the night here, and were quite pleased. The price was certainly right compared with nearby hotels wanting 75% more for similar rooms. They were very welcoming, saying this was the original Motel 6. The room was clean, but had some lingering smell from a smoker (it was supposed to be a non-smoking room). Note the standard of Motel 6 is pretty no-frills. WiFi costs $3 extra, towels are pretty thin, no breakfast is offered (though coffee is available at the front desk). If what you want is somewhere cheap to sleep while you enjoy the beach, it's worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrankeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This motel is a perfect inexpensive option as far as location goes. It's right by the beach. The rooms are modern (although tiny) and adequate. However, my night at this motel was by far the most uncomfortable, sleepless night I've ever had. The mattress was like sleeping on stiff cardboard. I tossed and turned and finally gave up. When I told the staff about it they seemed very unconcerned. I even filled out a follow-up survey they sent me with this complaint, and they responded with an email thanking me for the glowing review! Management needs to get on this.

Room Tip: Check the beds beforehand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We went to Santa Barbara for the weekend. We wanted a little get a way that would not break the bank. While we would usually opt for a more full service property, we decided to spend more than half the price on lodging (approx. $89). The room has been remodeled in that Ikea modern type style. Sure beats the typical old style interior for a Motel 6. The room was clean, bright, and average sized. The location on Corona Delo Mar Street is wonderful if you want to walk to the beach (one block). We opted for a second story room so our door wasn't directly facing the parking lot. It was quiet. We had a nice, relaxing time. (Please note that the Motel 6 is very good for this price range. I am not saying it compares to a full service property with room service or turn down service. However, for the money, this motel is a nice alternative.)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hipshoegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
870 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#24 of 51 in Santa Barbara
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
82 reviews
0.1 km away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 51 in Santa Barbara
339 reviews
6.7 km away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Address: 443 Corona Del Mar, US 101/El Camino South at Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Motel Six Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Motel Six
Santa Barbara Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing