We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lemon Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$303
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
US$537
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
159
159
36
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
159
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate streetgreat locationquiet hourshistoric hotelhistoric elevatorheart of downtownboutique stylewithin walking distancecontinental breakfastbeautiful lobbyvalet parking iscentral locationshops and restaurantsan older hotelcomfortable hotelvalet servicehard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel needs some updating. Location is excellent but surrounding area a bit run down. Hotel built in 1926 and it shows. Elevator was very slow and small. With four floors and number of rooms elevator was insufficient. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are small as are bathrooms. Windows do not open and are sealed shut. Wonder how that is up to code. We could have found better for the price.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Romeo909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Romeo,
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had an overall positive experience and were able to take advantage of our lovely location. While the hotel was built in 1926 we did have the rooms remodeled in 2013, and we are excited to announce that we are in the planning stages of a bathroom remodel as well. Each of our rooms are unique in size and orientation due to the historic nature of the hotel. Next time you stay with us we do hope you will let the front desk know you are interested in one of our larger rooms. And any sealed windows are for sound proofing. We do hope you come back again. Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Old traditional hotel with good rooms breakfast in the reception area and ample parking ,situated in the centre of Santa Barbara on state street highly recommended
close to all shops amenities and museums

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skylane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us Skylane. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our hotel! We do hope you come back again soon. Best, Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Pros
- Great location on state street
- Nice lobby, decorated for the holidays
- Beautiful old building
- Easy check in, friendly staff
- Very comfortable bed

Cons
- Room on the small side, thought it would be a little better for the price
- “Valet” – you just park your car in the small lot yourself, it’s an excuse to charge you for parking

Overall we had a nice stay, although I do think the hotel was quite expensive. We visited other hotels while we were there, and for this price you can get nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hello Ritzox,
Thank you for your review! We are bummed we didn't get to four bubbles with you on your rating but we do appreciate your feedback. During this slower time of year it may seem that valet doesn't do much, but when things really pick up we actually use an additional lot across the street from the hotel property, which makes valet vital. Guests always have the option of parking on the street (75 min max) or in any of the downtown lots, but they would charge you a minimum of $20 for a full day. We will let our staff know that you were happy with their friendly service. And we are glad that you were able to enjoy the location. Please come back again soon.
Regards, Jennie Jacobs - Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

In center of downtown the Hotel Santa Barbara is quiet (no slamming doors as the doors have soft close arms) and well maintained. It is a small older hotel (1926) that has kept pace with updated furnishings and modern amenities. Closet space can be tiny in some rooms as the closet may also contains the refrigerator and keurig coffee maker. Complimentary bottled water. Room 215 is overlooking street, can have some street noise. 204 is quiet. Excellent staff at front desk and valet. Note valet parking is on Cota street, be alert for the small sign for entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi M44, Thank you for your review. We love hearing feedback from our guests. Each room at the hotel has something different to offer. Since the hotel was built in 1926 the rooms layouts differ. A few rooms do have the refrigerator and coffee maker in the closet. We will definitely let staff and valet know that you appreciated their friendly service. Please come back again soon. Jennie Jacobs - Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Right in the middle of everything. You can walk to everything from here and never need to use your car. The rooms were a little small be nicely decorated and comfortable beds. The lobby and the elevator were quaint. Service was good. They were very attentive and always very helpful. The breakfast was enjoyable. They had plenty of everything and were quick to restock anything that ran low. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phreadhead48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hello P, thank you for the review. We are glad you were able to adventure around Santa Barbara car free, our location is perfect for that. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We recently started serving some pastries from a local French patisserie and love hearing that our guests are enjoying them. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews