We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy hotel, fantastic breakfast and wonderful service, in downtown Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

As the fires were raging in Ojai, a few friends and I drove to Santa Barbara for safety. We stayed in this classy hotel I did not know before; it's conveniently located, great selection of restaurants within one block, never had to move the car from the parking lot to find a great place to eat. Room and bathroom were nicely appointed and impeccably clean, which is a big deal for this traveler. Their breakfast is served in the downstairs lobby, with the usual selections you'd expect in a nice hotel; noteworthy: exceptional croissants and other fresh pastries!
The hotel offered us a discount as a courtesy due to our evacuating Ojai under duress. Very considerate of them, and much appreciated by all in our group. I stayed five days. The service was attentive without exception, from the staff to the parking attendants. I enjoyed their vintage elevator, reminded me of old hotels in Europe. Slow, but a real trip in time. I would go again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor, facing the parking lot or the side street, to avoid traffic noises on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank artcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Artcie,
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends even though the circumstances were not pleasant. Despite the fire, you and your friends from Ojai brought so much love into our space and lobby. We look forward to having you back some day, but hopefully during less stressful times. Warmest Regards, Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel needs some updating. Location is excellent but surrounding area a bit run down. Hotel built in 1926 and it shows. Elevator was very slow and small. With four floors and number of rooms elevator was insufficient. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are small as are bathrooms. Windows do not open and are sealed shut. Wonder how that is up to code. We could have found better for the price.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Romeo909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Romeo,
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had an overall positive experience and were able to take advantage of our lovely location. While the hotel was built in 1926 we did have the rooms remodeled in 2013, and we are excited to announce that we are in the planning stages of a bathroom remodel as well. Each of our rooms are unique in size and orientation due to the historic nature of the hotel. Next time you stay with us we do hope you will let the front desk know you are interested in one of our larger rooms. And any sealed windows are for sound proofing. We do hope you come back again. Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Old traditional hotel with good rooms breakfast in the reception area and ample parking ,situated in the centre of Santa Barbara on state street highly recommended
close to all shops amenities and museums

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skylane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us Skylane. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our hotel! We do hope you come back again soon. Best, Jennie Jacobs, Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Pros
- Great location on state street
- Nice lobby, decorated for the holidays
- Beautiful old building
- Easy check in, friendly staff
- Very comfortable bed

Cons
- Room on the small side, thought it would be a little better for the price
- “Valet” – you just park your car in the small lot yourself, it’s an excuse to charge you for parking

Overall we had a nice stay, although I do think the hotel was quite expensive. We visited other hotels while we were there, and for this price you can get nicer hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hello Ritzox,
Thank you for your review! We are bummed we didn't get to four bubbles with you on your rating but we do appreciate your feedback. During this slower time of year it may seem that valet doesn't do much, but when things really pick up we actually use an additional lot across the street from the hotel property, which makes valet vital. Guests always have the option of parking on the street (75 min max) or in any of the downtown lots, but they would charge you a minimum of $20 for a full day. We will let our staff know that you were happy with their friendly service. And we are glad that you were able to enjoy the location. Please come back again soon.
Regards, Jennie Jacobs - Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

In center of downtown the Hotel Santa Barbara is quiet (no slamming doors as the doors have soft close arms) and well maintained. It is a small older hotel (1926) that has kept pace with updated furnishings and modern amenities. Closet space can be tiny in some rooms as the closet may also contains the refrigerator and keurig coffee maker. Complimentary bottled water. Room 215 is overlooking street, can have some street noise. 204 is quiet. Excellent staff at front desk and valet. Note valet parking is on Cota street, be alert for the small sign for entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi M44, Thank you for your review. We love hearing feedback from our guests. Each room at the hotel has something different to offer. Since the hotel was built in 1926 the rooms layouts differ. A few rooms do have the refrigerator and coffee maker in the closet. We will definitely let staff and valet know that you appreciated their friendly service. Please come back again soon. Jennie Jacobs - Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.3 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
0.7 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,286 reviews
0.6 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State St, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €180 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing